vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Juriste, P4
Intitulé code d’emploi: LEGAL OFFICER
Département / Bureau: Bureau des affaires juridiques
Lieu d'affectation: NEW YORK
Période de candidature: 31 juillet 2018 - 13 septembre 2018
No de l’appel á candidature: 18-Legal Affairs-OLA-100148-R-New York (X)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ce poste est à pourvoir à la Division des questions juridiques générales, qui relève du Bureau des affaires juridiques. Le titulaire relève de l’administrateur général jurisconsulte et du Directeur de la Division des questions juridiques générales.

Responsabilités

Dans les limites des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués, le (la) titulaire s’acquitte des fonctions ci-après :

• En tant que juriste principal(e) dans un ou plusieurs domaines d’intervention, traiter une vaste gamme de questions juridiques très complexes et souvent délicates ou conflictuelles, touchant au droit commercial international, au droit administratif international et au droit international public, notamment l’interprétation et l’application d’instruments dans ce domaine d’intervention.
• Fournir des conseils juridiques sur diverses questions de fond et de procédures d’une grande complexité, et en particulier, des conseils et un appui en vue de résoudre les différends découlant de contrats avec des vendeurs commerciaux, des consultants, d’autres employés et des réclamations de tiers de nature privée impliquant les opérations et les activités des organisations, de ses organes ou de ses fonds et programmes administrés séparément.
• Effectuer des recherches et des analyses juridiques approfondies et rédiger des avis juridiques, des études, des mémoires, des rapports et des communications ; fournir des conseils juridiques au Groupe et à la Division.
• Assurer le service de groupes de travail et d’autres organes diplomatiques, notamment en préparant des documents d’information, des résumés des questions examinées et des opinions exprimées par les délégations, des rapports de réunion.
• Examiner et rédiger des contrats, des accords, des modalités institutionnelles et opérationnelles complexes ou des requêtes ou conclusions juridiques et d’autres documents juridiques ; mettre au point de nouvelles solutions juridiques pour faire face à des circonstances ou besoins particuliers.
• Fournir des conseils sur les négociations et le règlement des réclamations et des différends, et y participer pour inclure l’établissement de la stratégie et de l’approche, la décision sur le texte juridique des termes et conditions des règlements et des recommandations sur le mérite des réclamations.
• Fournir des conseils juridiques sur l’interprétation et l’application des règles et règlements du personnel, y compris l’examen des décisions administratives ; examiner les projets d’amendements au Statut et règlement du personnel ; préparer des projets de textes administratifs ou des amendements à ceux-ci et vérifie leur conformité avec le règlement et les règles du personnel en vigueur ; préparer des analyses et des évaluations des politiques et des pratiques en matière de ressources humaines.
• Représenter l’Organisation dans les affaires devant les tribunaux arbitraux et les tribunaux administratifs des Nations Unies, y compris les procédures disciplinaires et les appels du personnel.
• Siéger au sein de divers comités permanents, groupes de travail spéciaux et équipes spéciales selon qu’il convient ; promouvoir les activités de l’Organisation et la représenter lors de réunions, conférences, séminaires, etc.
• Coordonner et diriger, au besoin, des équipes composées d’autres juristes traitant de problèmes majeurs, et/ou guider et superviser le travail de fonctionnaires moins expérimenté(e)s dans le cadre de projets spécifiques.
• Contribuer à l’examen et à l’élaboration de nouveaux instruments, orientations, directives juridiques, entre autres, ou de nouvelles modalités d’application pour ces derniers.
• S’acquitter de toutes autres tâches qui pourraient lui être confiées.

Compétences

• Professionnalisme : Connaissance des principes, notions, procédures et terminologie juridiques et aptitude à en faire application à l’occasion de l’examen, de l’analyse et du traitement de textes juridiques divers. Aptitude à effectuer des recherches juridiques et à analyser des informations issues de différentes ressources et ayant trait à un large éventail de questions juridiques. Connaissance des systèmes et principes de droit civil ou de la common law. Aptitude à interpréter et appliquer des instruments législatifs, à formuler et à exposer en toute clarté et concision des résultats, recommandations et avis. Capacité à rédiger des articles juridiques et à travailler sous pression. Réserve et sûreté de jugement à l’occasion de l’exécution de tâches qui lui assignées. Aptitude à négocier, à convaincre et à emporter l’adhésion, de même qu’à travailler dans des délais serrés et à mener de front plusieurs projets et affaires.


• Aptitude à la communication : S’exprimer clairement et efficacement, tant oralement que par écrit. Ecouter les autres, bien les comprendre et donner suite comme il convient. Poser les questions voulues afin d’obtenir des éclaircissements et faciliter le dialogue. Adapter le langage, le ton, le style et la présentation au public auquel on s’adresse. Partager l’information avec tous ceux qu’elle intéresse et tenir chacun au courant.

• Esprit d’équipe : Collaborer avec ses collègues afin d’atteindre les objectifs de l’Organisation. Solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun et être prêt à apprendre de lui. Faire passer l’intérêt de l’équipe avant son avantage personnel. Accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s’y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre. Partager les réussites de l’équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau du master en droit avec une spécialisation en droit international public. À défaut, un diplôme universitaire du premier cycle assorti de deux années supplémentaires d’expérience pertinente. Une autorisation de pratiquer le droit dans l’État Membre dont le (la) candidat(e) a la nationalité ou dans un autre État Membre de l’ONU est également souhaitable.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins sept années d’expérience professionnelle, à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés, dans la pratique du droit, y compris de l’analyse, de la recherche et de la rédaction juridiques sont exigées. Une expérience acquise au sein du service juridique d’une organisation intergouvernementale, d’un cabinet d’avocat ou d’un gouvernement est exigée. Une expérience dans le domaine de l’arbitrage est exigée. Une expérience professionnelle relative au statut, aux privilèges et aux immunités des organisations internationales est souhaitable.

Connaissances linguistiques

L’anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du Secrétariat de l’ONU. Pour le poste à pourvoir, la maîtrise de l’anglais est exigée. La connaissance du français est souhaitable. La connaissance d’une autre langue officielle de l’Organisation est également souhaitable.

Méthode d'évaluation

Un entretien d’appréciation des compétences et un autre dispositif d’évaluation des compétences pourront être utilisés pour évaluer les candidat(e)s.

Notice spéciale

Le Secrétariat de l’Organisation des Nations Unies est résolu à atteindre l’objectif de parité hommes-femmes dans son personnel. Les femmes sont vivement encouragées à envoyer leur candidature.

L'engagement ne sera prolongé que si le mandat du Bureau est prorogé et/ou si les fonds nécessaires sont disponibles.

Les fonctionnaires sont soumis à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui décide de leur affectation. Au fil de leur carrière, ils sont censés changer de fonctions périodiquement, conformément aux règles en vigueur.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aux termes du paragraphe 3 de l’Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d’assurer à l’Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. Aucun candidat ne sera pris en considération par l'ONU s’il s'est rendu coupable de violation du droit international des droits de l'homme ou du droit international humanitaire, d'exploitation sexuelle, d'atteinte sexuelle ou d'infraction autre qu'une infraction mineure au code de la route, ou s'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire que le candidat a été impliqué dans la commission de l'un de ces actes. L’expression « exploitation sexuelle » désigne le fait de profiter ou de tenter de profiter d’un état de vulnérabilité, d’un rapport de force inégal ou de rapports de confiance à des fins sexuelles, y compris mais non exclusivement en vue d’en tirer un avantage pécuniaire, social ou politique. L'expression « atteinte sexuelle » désigne toute intrusion physique à caractère sexuel commise par la force, sous la contrainte ou à la faveur d’un rapport inégal, ou la menace d’une telle intrusion.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils ou elles peuvent consulter le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat, en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à 11:59 p.m. (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L'ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: Legal Officer, P4
Job Code Title: LEGAL OFFICER
Department/Office: Office of Legal Affairs
Duty Station: NEW YORK
Posting Period: 31 July 2018 - 13 September 2018
Job Opening Number: 18-Legal Affairs-OLA-100148-R-New York (X)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Org. Setting and Reporting

This position is located in the General Legal Division (GLD) of the Office of Legal Affairs (OLA). The incumbent reports to the Principal Legal Officer and the Director of the General Legal Division.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Legal Officer will be responsible for the following duties:

•Serves as a lead officer in one or more areas of concentration, and handles a wide range of highly complex, and often sensitive and/or conflicting legal matters involving issues relating to international commercial law, international administrative law, and international public law, to include interpretation and application of instruments in that area of concentration.
•Provides legal advice on diverse substantive and procedural questions of considerable complexity, and in particular, advice and support in resolving disputes arising out of contracts with commercial vendors, consultants, other personnel, and third-party claims of a private law character involving the operations and activities of the Organizations, its organs or its separately administered funds and programmes.
•Performs extensive legal research and analysis and prepares legal opinions, studies, briefs, reports and correspondence; provides legal advice to the unit/division.
•Services task forces, expert groups and other bodies, including preparation of background materials, summaries of issues and views of delegations, meeting reports.
•Reviews, advises on and drafts complex contracts, agreements, institutional and operational modalities, or legal motions/submissions and other legal documents; develops new legal modalities to meet unique needs/circumstances.
•Advises on and participates in negotiations and settlement of claims and disputes, to include establishing strategy and approach, deciding on the legal text for terms and conditions of settlements, and the recommendations on the merits of claims.
•Provides legal advice on the interpretation and application of staff regulations and rules, including the review of administrative decisions; reviews draft amendments to the staff regulations and rules; prepares draft administrative issuances or amendments thereto and verifies their consistency with the existing staff regulation and rules; prepares analyses and evaluations of human resources policies and practices.
•Represents the organization in cases before arbitral tribunals and UN administrative tribunals, including disciplinary cases and staff appeals.
•Serves on various standing boards, committees, ad hoc working groups and task forces, as required; promotes the work of the United Nations and represents the organization at meetings, conferences, seminars, etc.
•Coordinates and direct teams of other legal officers dealing with significant problems as required, and/or mentors and supervises the work of junior officers on specific projects.
•Contributes to review and design of new, or new applications of, legal instruments, policy, guidelines, etc.
•Performs other duties as assigned.

Competencies

• Professionalism: Knowledge of, and ability to apply, legal principles, concepts and procedures and terminology for review, examination, and processing of a range of legal documents. Ability to conduct legal research and analyze information from various resources on a wide range of legal issues. Knowledge of the civil law and/or common law legal systems and principles. Ability to interpret and apply legislative instruments, develop and present results, recommendations, and opinions clearly and concisely. Ability to draft legal papers and work under pressure. Ability to apply legal judgment in the context of assignments given. Ability to negotiate and influence others to reach agreements. Ability to work and meet tight deadlines and handle multiple concurrent projects/case. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations. Takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work.

• Communication: Speaks and writes clearly and effectively; listens to others, correctly interprets messages from others and responds appropriately; asks questions to clarify, and exhibits interest in having two-way communication; tailors language, tone, style and format to match audience; demonstrates openness in sharing information and keeping people informed.

• Teamwork: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent degree) in law with emphasis in the area of public international law. A first-level university degree, in combination with two additional years of qualifying work experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree. Admission to the practice of law in the Member State of the candidate’s nationality or in another Member State of the United Nations is desirable.

Work Experience

A minimum of seven years of progressively responsible experience in the practice of law, including legal analysis, research and writing is required. Experience in the legal office of an intergovernmental organization, a law firm or Government is required. Experience in arbitration is required. Experience in working with the status and the privileges and immunities of international organizations is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For the position advertised, fluency in English is required. Knowledge of French is desirable. Knowledge of another United Nations official language is desirable.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise and a competency-based interview.

Special Notice

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

Extension of the appointment is subject to Extension of the mandate and/or the availability of the funds.

Staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and to assignment by him or her. In this context, all staff are expected to move periodically to new functions in their careers in accordance with established rules and procedures.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation or sexual abuse, or crimes other than minor traffic offences, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved