vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Head of Witness Support and Protection Unit, P4
Intitulé code d’emploi: Spécialiste des droits de l’homme
Département / Bureau: Mécanisme international appelé à exercer les fonctions résiduelles des Tribunaux pénaux
Lieu d'affectation: KIGALI
Période de candidature: 12 juillet 2019 - 10 août 2019
No de l’appel á candidature: 19-Human Rights Affairs-RMT-119817-R-Kigali (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Le poste est à pourvoir au sein du Service d’appui et de protection des témoins (antenne de Kigali), Cabinet du Greffier (Division d’Arusha), Greffe. Le titulaire du poste relève du responsable du Greffe de la division d’Arusha.

Responsabilités

•Coordonne toutes les activités de l’antenne de Kigali, notamment en assurant la liaison, lorsque cela est nécessaire, avec les autorités gouvernementales, les missions diplomatiques, les organisations non gouvernementales nationales et internationales et d’autres agences.
•Le titulaire du poste assure la gestion et la supervision directes du Service d’appui et de protection des témoins (division d’Arusha). Il organise, planifie, dirige et supervise les activités du Service et rend compte au responsable du Greffe et au Greffier s’agissant de l’exécution du mandat du Service.
•Il élabore, développe et assure la mise en œuvre de stratégies en matière de gestion, d’aide et de protection des témoins avant, pendant et à la fin de leur déposition devant le Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda (TPIR) et/ou le Mécanisme.
•Il supervise la mise en œuvre des mesures de protection ordonnées par les Chambres.
•Au nom du Greffier, il assure la liaison et mène les négociations avec l’administration, les autorités judiciaires nationales, les représentations diplomatiques et autres organismes de haut niveau en vue d’assurer la protection des témoins qui ont comparu devant le TPIR et/ou le Mécanisme, et l’application de programmes de soutien à leur intention.
•Il surveille les déplacements des témoins, au besoin.
•Il engage, développe et gère les projets et fonds extrabudgétaires et en rend compte, en effectuant notamment des recherches pour recenser et hiérarchiser les besoins, en rédigeant des propositions, en examinant des projets et en respectant les obligations en la matière.
•Il élabore des dossiers d’information destinés aux victimes et aux témoins, au public et à la communauté diplomatique, selon les besoins.
•Il tient à jour un dossier détaillé sur chaque témoin, ses besoins, l’aide qu’il demande et dont il bénéficie, et préserve la stricte confidentialité des informations sensibles.
•Il présente régulièrement des rapports analytiques au responsable du Greffe sur les activités de protection et d’appui des témoins et sur les activités du Service. Il organise des groupes de travail, des réunions, des conférences, des séminaires de formation et des consultations sur les questions liées aux témoins, et il y participe. Il assure la promotion, le développement et le maintien de réseaux de relations et d’orientation avec les représentants gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux compétents à l’échelon national et international, et avec les organismes des Nations Unies. Il représente le Mécanisme aux réunions, notamment en participant à celles de l’ONU au Rwanda et à des conférences portant sur les questions liées aux témoins, selon les besoins.
•Il apporte un soutien administratif au personnel de l’antenne de Kigali.
•Il s’acquitte des autres tâches qui lui sont confiées.

Compétences

•Professionnalisme — Le titulaire du poste a une connaissance approfondie de la gestion des victimes et des témoins et des questions liées à leur soutien et à leur protection. Connaissance de l’environnement rwandais, de son contexte culturel et historique. Compétences avérées en matière de direction. Souci de faire respecter le principe de l’égalité des sexes en assurant la pleine et égale participation des hommes et des femmes dans tous les aspects du travail, notamment en adoptant des mesures de protection et de soutien des victimes et des témoins. il tire fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations ; Il fait preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet ; il apporte à l’exécution de ses tâches la conscience et le souci d’efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d’honorer les engagements contractés, de tenir les délais impartis et d’obtenir les résultats escomptés ; il agit pour des motifs professionnels plutôt que personnels ; il persévère face aux obstacles et aux difficultés. Il conserve son calme dans les situations de crise.

•Planification et organisation — Le titulaire du poste définit clairement des objectifs compatibles avec les stratégies convenues. Il hiérarchise les activités et les tâches urgentes et adapte les priorités en fonction des besoins ; il prévoit suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien ; il tient compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification ; il suit l’exécution des projets et les modifie s’il y a lieu ; il tire le meilleur parti du temps dont il dispose.

•Sens des responsabilités — Le titulaire du poste assume toutes ses responsabilités et honore ses engagements ; il livre les produits dont il a la responsabilité dans les délais et au coût prévus, en respectant les normes de qualité ;il se conforme aux règles et procédures de l’organisation ; il soutient ses subordonnés, les encadre et assume la responsabilité des tâches qu’il leur délègue ; il endosse la responsabilité de ses propres erreurs et, le cas échéant, de celles de son service.

•Suivi du comportement professionnel — Le titulaire du poste délègue les pouvoirs, les responsabilités et la compétence nécessaires à ses subordonnés ; il veille à ce que les rôles, les responsabilités et la chaîne hiérarchique soient clairs pour tous ; il estime avec précision le temps et les ressources nécessaires pour accomplir une tâche et tire le meilleur parti des compétences ; il suit l’avancement du travail au regard des échéances ; il s’entretient régulièrement avec ses subordonnés de leurs résultats, leur fait part de ses appréciations et leur donne des conseils ; il encourage l’audace et favorise la créativité et l’initiative ; il soutient activement les aspirations professionnelles de ses collaborateurs et évalue équitablement leurs performances.

•Sûreté de jugement/aptitude à décider – Le titulaire du poste dégage les principaux éléments des situations complexes et va droit au cœur du problème. Il recueille toute l’information nécessaire avant de prendre une décision ; il réfléchit aux conséquences, positives et négatives, que peuvent avoir les décisions avant de les prendre ; il ne prend de décisions qu’après en avoir mesuré les conséquences pour autrui et pour l’institution ; il ne propose de lignes d’action ou ne formule de recommandations qu’en toute connaissance de cause ; il vérifie les hypothèses en les confrontant aux faits ; il s’assure que les dispositions envisagées répondent aux besoins exprimés ou implicites ; il sait prendre des décisions douloureuses quand les circonstances l’exigent.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau d’un master en sciences sociales, en droit ou tout autre diplôme pertinent. Un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle conjugué à deux (2) années d’expérience professionnelle adaptée peut être envisagé au lieu du diplôme universitaire supérieur.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins sept années d’expérience professionnelle assortie d’une progression des responsabilités, de préférence dans les programmes de protection ou de soutien aux témoins dans le cadre d’institutions judiciaires. Une expérience dans un cadre international et/ou sur des projets avec des réfugiés, des victimes ou des témoins de violations des droits de l’homme ou d’autres exactions est un atout.

Connaissances linguistiques

L’anglais et le français sont les deux langues de travail du Mécanisme. Pour le poste annoncé, la maîtrise de l’anglais à l’oral comme à l’écrit est indispensable. La connaissance pratique du français est très souhaitable. La connaissance pratique du kinyarwanda et/ou du swahili est également souhaitable.

Méthode d'évaluation

Les candidats sélectionnés pourront être invités à passer un entretien visant à déterminer leurs compétences, ainsi qu’une épreuve technique.

Notice spéciale

Remarque importante :
Le Secrétariat de l’Organisation des Nations Unies est résolu à atteindre l’objectif de parité hommes-femmes dans son personnel. Les femmes sont vivement encouragées à envoyer leur candidature.

La nomination à ce poste est limitée au Mécanisme. Le contrat du candidat retenu sera d’une durée limitée conformément au financement prévu initialement pour le poste. Le renouvellement du contrat dépend de la prorogation du mandat et/ou des fonds disponibles. Les Tribunaux internationaux n’étant pas intégrés au Secrétariat, les membres du personnel de l’ONU qui y travaillent sont affectés ou détachés par leur département ou leur service d’origine. La nomination des membres du personnel de l’ONU est soumise à l’autorité du Secrétaire général. Les membres du personnel sont censés assumer périodiquement de nouvelles fonctions, conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur, et peuvent à cet effet être redéployés par le Secrétaire général sur d’autres postes dans toute l’Organisation selon l’évolution des besoins et des mandats.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aux termes du paragraphe 3 de l’Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d’assurer à l’Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. Aucun candidat ne sera pris en considération par l'ONU s’il s'est rendu coupable de violation du droit international des droits de l'homme ou du droit international humanitaire, d'exploitation sexuelle, d'atteinte sexuelle ou d'infraction autre qu'une infraction mineure au code de la route, ou s'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire que le candidat a été impliqué dans la commission de l'un de ces actes. L’expression « exploitation sexuelle » désigne le fait de profiter ou de tenter de profiter d’un état de vulnérabilité, d’un rapport de force inégal ou de rapports de confiance à des fins sexuelles, y compris mais non exclusivement en vue d’en tirer un avantage pécuniaire, social ou politique. L'expression « atteinte sexuelle » désigne toute intrusion physique à caractère sexuel commise par la force, sous la contrainte ou à la faveur d’un rapport inégal, ou la menace d’une telle intrusion.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils ou elles peuvent consulter le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat, en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à 11:59 p.m. (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2019 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: Head of Witness Support and Protection Unit, P4
Job Code Title: HUMAN RIGHTS OFFICER
Department/Office: International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals
Duty Station: KIGALI
Posting Period: 12 July 2019 - 10 August 2019
Job Opening Number: 19-Human Rights Affairs-RMT-119817-R-Kigali (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Org. Setting and Reporting

This position is located in the Witness Support and Protection Unit (Kigali), Office of the Registrar, Arusha branch, Registry. The incumbent will report to the Chief, Registry in the Arusha branch.

Responsibilities

•Coordinate all activities of the Kigali Office including liaising, as necessary, with the government, diplomatic missions, local and international non-governmental organizations and other agencies.
•Oversee and provide direct management and supervision to the Witness Support and Protection Unit, Arusha branch. Organize, plan, direct and supervise the functions of the Unit and report to the Chief, Registry and Registrar on the implementation of the Unit’s mandate.
•Design, develop and ensure implementation of policies for the management, support and protection of witnesses prior to, during, and at the conclusion of their testimony for witnesses who testified before the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) and/or the Mechanism.
•Oversee the implementation of protective measures ordered by the Chambers.
•Liaise and negotiate on behalf of the Registrar with government departments, national judiciaries, diplomatic delegations, and other high-level institutions to ensure the protection and support programs to witnesses who appeared before the ICTR and/or the Mechanism.
•Oversee the movement of witnesses, as required.
•Initiate, obtain, manage and report on extra-budgetary funding and projects, including undertaking research to identify and prioritize the needs for such projects, proposal writing, evaluation of the projects and fulfilling reporting requirements.
•Develop information materials for victims and witnesses, the public and the diplomatic community as required.
•Oversee the maintenance of detailed records on individual cases of witnesses, including their needs and assistance required and that provided to them, and ensure strict confidentiality of sensitive information.
•Provide regular analytical reports to the Chief, Registry on witness support and protection activities and the activities of the Unit. Organize and participate in work groups, meetings, conferences, training seminars and consultations on witness related matters. Promote, develop and maintain relationships and referral networks with relevant national and international governmental and non-governmental officials and other UN agencies. Represent the Mechanism in meetings including participation in UN system meetings in Rwanda and conferences on witness-related matters, as required.
•Ensure the provision of administrative support to staff at the Kigali Office.
•Perform other duties as assigned.

Competencies

•Professionalism –
Thorough knowledge of victim and witness management, support and protection matters. Knowledge of Rwandan environment, culture and historical background. Demonstrated leadership skills. Commitment to implementing the goal of gender equality by ensuring the equal participation and full involvement of women and men in all aspects of work, including by adopting a gender sensitive approach to victims and witnesses protective and support measures. Shows pride in work and in achievements. Demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter. Is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results. Is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns. Shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges. Remains calm in stressful situations.

•Planning and Organizing – Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies. Identifies priority activities and assignments, adjusts priorities as required. Allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work. Foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning. Monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary. Uses time efficiently.

•Accountability – Takes ownership of all responsibilities and honours commitments. Delivers outputs for which one has responsibility within prescribed time, cost and quality standards. Operates in compliance with organisational regulations and rules. Supports subordinates, provides oversight and takes responsibility for delegated assignments. Takes personal responsibility for his/her own shortcomings and those of the work unit, where applicable.

•Managing Performance – Delegates the appropriate responsibility, accountability and decision-making authority. Makes sure that roles, responsibilities and reporting lines are clear to each staff member. Accurately judges the amount of time and resources needed to accomplish a task and matches task to skills. Monitors progress against milestones and deadlines. Regularly discusses performance and provides feedback and coaching to staff. Encourages risk-taking and supports creativity and initiative. Actively supports the development and career aspirations of staff. Appraises performance fairly.

•Judgement/Decision-making – Identifies the key issues in a complex situation, and comes to the heart of the problem quickly. Gathers relevant information before making a decision. Considers positive and negative impacts of decisions prior to making them. Takes decisions with an eye to the impact on others and on the Organisation. Proposes a course of action or makes a recommendation based on all available information. Checks assumptions against facts. Determines that the actions proposed will satisfy the expressed and underlying needs for the decision. Makes tough decisions when necessary.

Education

Advanced university degree in Social Sciences, Law or any other relevant degree. A first level university degree in combination with two additional years of qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of an advanced university degree.

Work Experience

Minimum of 7 years of progressively responsible relevant experience, preferably in witness support or protection programmes related to judicial institutions. Experience in an international framework and/or projects with refugees or other victims or witnesses to human rights or criminal abuses is an advantage.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the Mechanism. For the post advertised, fluency in oral and written English is required. Working knowledge of French is highly desirable. Working knowledge of Kinyarwanda and/or Swahili is also desirable.

Assessment

There may be a technical test followed by a competency-based interview.

Special Notice

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

The appointment is limited to the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals. Appointment of the successful candidate on this position will be limited to the initial funding of the post. Extension of the appointment is subject to the extension of the mandate and/or the availability of funds. As the international tribunals are not integrated in the Secretariat, UN Staff Members serve on assignment or secondment from their parent department/office if selected. Appointments of staff members in the United Nations are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General. Staff Members are expected to move periodically to new functions in accordance with established rules and procedures, and may in this context be reassigned by the Secretary-General throughout the Organization based on the changing needs and mandates.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation, sexual abuse, or sexual harassment, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions. The term “sexual harassment” means any unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature that might reasonably be expected or be perceived to cause offence or humiliation, when such conduct interferes with work, is made a condition of employment or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment, and when the gravity of the conduct warrants the termination of the perpetrator’s working relationship. Candidates who have committed crimes other than minor traffic offences may not be considered for employment.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2019 United Nations. All rights reserved