vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER, P5
Intitulé code d’emploi: Spécialiste des affaires politiques hors classe
Département / Bureau: Département des affaires politiques et de la consolidation de la paix-Département des opérations de paixstructure partagée
Lieu d'affectation: NEW YORK
Période de candidature: 25 août 2021 - 08 octobre 2021
No de l’appel á candidature: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-DPO-SS-160612-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ce poste est situé au sien de l'équipe Haïti/Division des Amériques (AD) du Département des affaires politiques et de la consolidation de la paix (DPPA) et du Département des opérations de paix (DPO). La Division des Amériques dirige les efforts de prévention des conflits, de médiation, d'élections et de maintien de la paix dans la région. L'équipe Haïti fournit un soutien à la mission politique spéciale de l'ONU en Haïti (BINUH). Le Spécialiste des affaires politiques (P5) remplit les fonctions du chef de l'équipe Haïti et fera rapport au Directeur de la division Amériques par l'intermédiaire du Directeur adjoint.

Responsabilités

Dans le cadre des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués, le Spécialiste des questions politiques sera chargé des tâches suivantes :

- Diriger et orienter le travail de l'équipe d'Haïti ; fournir des conseils de fond aux membres de l'équipe sur une base quotidienne, notamment en effectuant des recherches et des analyses sur les questions de paix et de sécurité liées à Haïti et à la mise en œuvre du mandat du Conseil de sécurité du Bureau intégré des Nations unies pour Haïti (BINUH).
- Formuler des stratégies en matière d'affaires politiques ; développer une vision ou une orientation du travail ; proposer des directives politiques et un plan d'action pour des solutions immédiates et à long terme aux problèmes politiques en général et dans des zones géographiques spécifiques ; identifier les questions émergentes relatives aux mandats de l'unité ; analyser les implications et faire des recommandations sur les stratégies et mesures possibles.
- Planifier et mettre en œuvre les activités opérationnelles liées au travail de l'équipe d'Haïti pour soutenir la mise en œuvre du mandat du BINUH, y compris la prévention et la résolution des conflits, la réhabilitation post-conflit, l'administration des élections, le renforcement des institutions politiques et de gouvernance, le travail de soutien à la société civile, etc. ; incorporer une approche intégrée comprenant une dimension fondée sur les droits, une sensibilité à la prévention des conflits et une perspective de genre dans la politique, la planification et les activités opérationnelles de l'unité.
- Planifier, coordonner et gérer des programmes, projets et activités nécessitant une implication et une participation interdépartementales et/ou interagences.
- Rédiger des propositions de politiques relatives à Haïti et au BINUH et préparer des notes d'information et des points de discussion pour le Secrétaire général, les Conseillers principaux, le Secrétaire général adjoint/le Sous-secrétaire général.
- Conçoit des initiatives de consolidation de la paix et des initiatives électorales ; donne des conseils et participe aux négociations en vue de la mise en place d'opérations et élabore des lignes directrices, des termes de référence, des plans opérationnels et des calendriers pour les nouvelles opérations.
- Diriger une équipe de travail ; planifier et répartir les tâches ; encadrer, guider et évaluer le personnel ; participer au recrutement et à la sélection de nouveaux employés et à l'élaboration de programmes de formation.
- Agit comme coordonnateur d'opérations complexes et de missions de soutien.
- Gère, coordonne, organise et supervise la recherche sur une variété de questions politiques en Haïti.
- Représenter la division/bureau/mission lors de tables rondes, séminaires et conférences.
- Formule le programme de travail, le budget et le plan à moyen terme de l'unité et participe à l'approbation générale du programme de travail et des questions administratives concernant l'équipe d'Haïti ; coordonne et supervise le travail des collègues et de l'unité.
- Développe et entretient des relations avec les hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement et les conseille sur les questions et les politiques d'intérêt commun.
- Effectue d'autres tâches connexes selon les besoins.

Compétences

- Professionnalisme : Connaissance du travail des organes intergouvernementaux, du travail des Nations unies et de ses organes connexes s'occupant de questions politiques, économiques, sociales et autres. Capacité à évaluer les situations politiques internationales dans le domaine d'affectation. Capacité à gérer et à coordonner de nombreux niveaux et participants différents dans les opérations sur le terrain et dans le système commun des Nations unies. Fierté dans le travail et les réalisations ; compétence professionnelle et maîtrise du sujet ; consciencieux et efficace dans le respect des engagements, des délais et des résultats ; motivé par des préoccupations professionnelles plutôt que personnelles ; persévérant face à des problèmes ou des défis difficiles ; calme dans les situations stressantes.
- Travail d'équipe : Travaille en collaboration avec ses collègues pour atteindre les objectifs de l'organisation ; sollicite les contributions en valorisant réellement les idées et l'expertise des autres ; est prêt à apprendre des autres ; place l'agenda de l'équipe avant son agenda personnel ; soutient et agit en accord avec la décision finale du groupe, même si ces décisions ne reflètent pas entièrement sa propre position ; partage le crédit pour les réalisations de l'équipe et accepte la responsabilité conjointe pour les défaillances de l'équipe.
- Planification et organisation : Développe des objectifs clairs qui sont cohérents avec les stratégies convenues ; identifie les activités et les tâches prioritaires ; ajuste les priorités selon les besoins ; alloue le temps et les ressources nécessaires à l'accomplissement du travail ; prévoit les risques et les imprévus lors de la planification ; surveille et ajuste les plans et les actions selon les besoins ; utilise le temps efficacement.
Compétences en matière de gestion :
- Leadership : Servir de modèle que les autres veulent suivre, donner aux autres les moyens de traduire leur vision en résultats ; être proactif dans l'élaboration de stratégies pour atteindre les objectifs ; établir et entretenir des relations avec un large éventail de personnes pour comprendre les besoins et obtenir un soutien ; anticiper et résoudre les conflits en recherchant des solutions mutuellement acceptables ; promouvoir le changement et les améliorations ; remettre en question le statu quo ; faire preuve de courage pour prendre des positions impopulaires. Assume la direction et la responsabilité de l'intégration des perspectives de genre et de la participation égale des femmes et des hommes dans tous les domaines de travail ; démontre sa connaissance des stratégies et son engagement envers l'objectif d'équilibre entre les sexes dans la dotation en personnel.
- Jugement/prise de décision : Identifie les questions clés dans une situation complexe, et va rapidement au cœur du problème ; rassemble les informations pertinentes avant de prendre une décision ; considère les impacts positifs et négatifs des décisions avant de les prendre ; prend des décisions en tenant compte de l'impact sur les autres et sur l'Organisation ; propose un plan d'action ou fait une recommandation sur la base de toutes les informations disponibles ; vérifie les hypothèses par rapport aux faits ; détermine que les actions proposées répondront aux besoins exprimés et sous-jacents de la décision ; prend des décisions difficiles si nécessaire.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire supérieur (maîtrise ou équivalent) en sciences politiques, relations internationales, économie internationale, droit, administration publique ou domaine connexe. Un diplôme universitaire de premier niveau combiné à une expérience qualifiante peut être accepté en lieu et place du diplôme universitaire avancé.

Expérience professionnelle

Un minimum de dix ans d'expérience à responsabilité progressive en sciences politiques, relations internationales, droit, désarmement, sécurité, gestion du développement, résolution des conflits ou dans un domaine connexe est requis.
Une expérience de travail dans une opération de terrain du système commun des Nations Unies - ou une organisation internationale ou non gouvernementale similaire - est requise.
Une expérience de travail visant à soutenir les processus politiques dans un contexte de transition est souhaitable.
Une expérience en Haïti, soit dans le pays, soit au niveau du siège de l'organisation, est souhaitable.
Une expérience de l'appui/du soutien aux missions de terrain des Nations Unies ou d'autres organisations internationales est souhaitable.
Une expérience dans l'analyse politique et de conflit sensible au genre est souhaitable.

Connaissances linguistiques

La maîtrise des deux langues de travail du Secrétariat de l'ONU, l'anglais et le français, (à l'oral et à l'écrit) est requise ; la connaissance d'une autre langue officielle de l'ONU est un avantage.

Méthode d'évaluation

L'évaluation des candidats qualifiés peut comprendre un exercice d'évaluation qui peut être suivi d'un entretien basé sur les compétences.

Notice spéciale

Pour pouvoir poser leur candidature, les fonctionnaires du Secrétariat doivent avoir à leur actif le nombre requis de mutations latérales, lesquelles seront indiquées dans la notice personnelle et la lettre de couverture.

Les fonctionnaires sont soumis(es) à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui décide de leur affectation. Au fil de leur carrière, ils (elles) sont censé(e)s changer de fonctions périodiquement, conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur.

Pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement et l’emploi du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes qui possèdent les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité, tout en tenant compte de la diversité géographique. Toutes les décisions de recrutement sont prises sur la base des qualifications des candidates et candidats et des besoins de l’Organisation. L’Organisation des Nations Unies s’engage à instaurer un climat où règnent diversité, inclusion et respect mutuel. Elle recrute et emploie des personnes quels que soient leur identité de genre, leur orientation sexuelle, leur race, leur religion, leur origine culturelle ou ethnique ou leur handicap. Des aménagements raisonnables peuvent être prévus pour faciliter la participation des candidates ou candidats handicapé(e)s aux procédures de recrutement lorsque cela est indiqué et demandé dans le dossier de candidature

Le Secrétariat de l’Organisation des Nations Unies tenant à ce que son personnel comprenne autant de femmes que d’hommes, les candidatures de femmes sont fortement encouragées.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aux termes du paragraphe 3 de l’Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d’assurer à l’Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. Ne seront pas retenues les candidatures des personnes qui ont commis des violations du droit international des droits de l’homme, des violations du droit international humanitaire, des actes d’exploitation, d’atteintes ou de harcèlement sexuels, ou au sujet desquelles il existe des raisons plausibles de croire qu’elles ont été impliquées dans la commission de tels actes. L’expression « exploitation sexuelle » désigne le fait d’abuser ou de tenter d’abuser d’un état de vulnérabilité, d’un rapport de force inégal ou de rapports de confiance à des fins sexuelles, y compris mais non exclusivement en vue d’en tirer un avantage pécuniaire, social ou politique. On entend par « atteinte sexuelle » toute atteinte physique de nature sexuelle commise par la force, sous la contrainte ou à la faveur d’un rapport inégal, ou la menace d’une telle atteinte. Le harcèlement sexuel s'entend de tout comportement déplacé à connotation sexuelle raisonnablement propre ou de nature à choquer ou humilier, lorsqu'il entrave la bonne marche du service, est présenté comme une condition d'emploi ou crée au lieu de travail un climat d'intimidation, d'hostilité ou de vexation, et lorsque ce comportement est assez grave pour justifier le licenciement de son auteur. La candidature de personnes qui ont commis des infractions autres que des infractions mineures au code de la route ne sera pas retenue.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

La considération dominante dans l’engagement, la mutation ou la promotion du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. En acceptant une offre d’engagement, les membres du personnel sont soumis(es) à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui peut leur assigner l’une quelconque des tâches ou l’un quelconque des postes de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, conformément à l’alinéa c) de l’article 1.2 du Statut du personnel. Dans ce contexte, tous les membres du personnel recrutés sur le plan international sont tenus de changer de fonctions périodiquement à l’intérieur d’un même lieu d’affectation ou dans un autre lieu d’affectation, dans les conditions fixées par le Secrétaire général.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils ou elles peuvent consulter le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat, en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à 11:59 p.m. (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER, P5
Job Code Title: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER
Department/Office: Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs-Department of Peace Operations-Shared Structure
Duty Station: NEW YORK
Posting Period: 25 August 2021 - 08 October 2021
Job Opening Number: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-DPO-SS-160612-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity

Org. Setting and Reporting

This post is located in the Haiti Team/Americas Division (AD) of the Department of Political and Peace Building Affairs (DPPA) and the Department of Peace Operations (DPO). The Americas Division leads efforts for the prevention of conflict, mediation, elections and sustaining peace in the region. The Haiti Team provides backstopping support to the UN special political mission in Haiti (BINUH). The Senior Political Affairs officer (P5) performs the functions of the Haiti Team Leader and reports to the Director of the Americas Division through the Deputy Director.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Senior Political Affairs Officer will be responsible for the following duties:

•Leads and directs the work of the Haiti team; provides substantive guidance to the members of the team on a daily basis, particularly carrying out research and analysis on peace and security issues related to Haiti and the implementation of the Security Council mandate of the United Nations Integrated Office for Haiti (BINUH).
•Formulates political affairs strategies; develops a vision or direction for work; proposes policy directives and plan of action for immediate and long-range solutions to political problems in general and in specific geographical areas; identifies emerging issues pertaining to the mandates of the unit; analyses implications and makes recommendations on possible strategies and measures.
•Plans and implements the operational activities related to the work of the Haiti Team in backstopping implementation of BINUH’s mandate including conflict prevention and resolution, post-conflict rehabilitation, election administration, political and governance institution-building, civil society support work, etc.; incorporates an integrated approach that includes a rights-based dimension, conflict prevention sensitivity, and a gender perspective into the policy, planning and operational activities of the unit.
•Plans, coordinates and manages programmes, projects and activities requiring interdepartmental and/or interagency involvement and participation.
•Drafts policy proposals related to Haiti and BINUH and prepares briefing notes and talking points for the Secretary-General, Senior Advisers, Under-Secretary-General/Assistant Secretary-General.
•Designs peacebuilding and electoral initiatives; advises on and participates in the negotiation to establish operations and develops guidelines, terms of reference and operational plans and timeframes for new operations.
•Leads and directs a work team; plans and allocates work assignments; coaches, mentors, and evaluates staff; participates in recruitment and selection of new staff and in the development of training programs.
•Acts as coordinator for complex operations and support missions.
•Manages, coordinates, organizes and supervises research on a variety of political issues in Haiti.
•Represents division/office/mission at round tables, seminars and conferences.
•Formulates the programme of work, budget and medium-term plan of the unit and participates in the overall approval of the programme of work, and administrative matters concerning the Haiti Team; coordinates and oversees work of colleagues and unit.
•Develops and maintains relations with senior government officials and advises them on issues and policies of mutual concern.
•Performs other related duties as required.

Competencies

Professionalism: Knowledge of the work of intergovernmental bodies, the work of the United Nations and its related bodies concerned with political, economic, social and related matters. Ability to evaluate international political situations in area of assignment. Ability to manage and coordinate many different levels and participants in operations in both the field and UN common system. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations.

Teamwork: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

Planning & Organizing: Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.

Leadership: Serves as a role model that other people want to follow, empowers others to translate vision into results; is proactive in developing strategies to accomplish objectives; establishes and maintains relationships with a broad range of people to understand needs and gain support; anticipates and resolves conflicts by pursuing mutually agreeable solutions; drives for change and improvements; challenges the status quo; shows the courage to take unpopular stands. Provides leadership and takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work; demonstrates knowledge of strategies and commitment to the goal of gender balance in staffing.

Judgement/Decision-making: Identifies the key issues in a complex situation, and comes to the heart of the problem quickly; gathers relevant information before making a decision; considers positive and negative impacts of decisions prior to making them; takes decisions with an eye to the impact on others and on the Organization; proposes a course of action or makes a recommendation based on all available information; checks assumptions against facts; determines that the actions proposed will satisfy the expressed and underlying needs for the decision; makes tough decisions when necessary.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent) degree in political science, international relations, international economics, law, public administration, or related field. A first-level university degree in combination with qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree.

Work Experience

A minimum of ten years of progressively responsible experience in political science, international relations, law, disarmament, security, development management, conflict resolution or related area is required.
Experience working in a United Nations common system field operation –or similar international or non-governmental organization is desirable.
Experience working to support political processes in a transition setting is desirable.
Experience in political analysis related to Haiti is desirable.
Experience in supporting/backstopping United Nations or other international field missions is desirable.
Experience in gender-sensitive political and conflict analysis is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For this position fluency in both English and French (oral and written) is required; Knowledge of another UN official language is an advantage.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

Special Notice

Staff members of the United Nations Secretariat must fulfill the lateral move requirements to be eligible to apply for this vacancy. Staff members are requested to indicate all qualifying lateral moves in their Personal History Profile (PHP) and cover letter.

Staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and to assignment by him or her. In this context, all staff are expected to move periodically to new functions in their careers in accordance with established rules and procedures.

At the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the recruitment and employment of staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity, with due regard to geographic diversity. All employment decisions are made on the basis of qualifications and organizational needs. The United Nations is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive environment of mutual respect. The United Nations recruits and employs staff regardless of gender identity, sexual orientation, race, religious, cultural and ethnic backgrounds or disabilities. Reasonable accommodation for applicants with disabilities may be provided to support participation in the recruitment process when requested and indicated in the application.

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance and geographical diversity in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation, sexual abuse, or sexual harassment, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions. The term “sexual harassment” means any unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature that might reasonably be expected or be perceived to cause offence or humiliation, when such conduct interferes with work, is made a condition of employment or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment, and when the gravity of the conduct warrants the termination of the perpetrator’s working relationship. Candidates who have committed crimes other than minor traffic offences may not be considered for employment.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

The paramount consideration in the appointment, transfer, or promotion of staff shall be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. By accepting an offer of appointment, United Nations staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and assignment by him or her to any activities or offices of the United Nations in accordance with staff regulation 1.2 (c). In this context, all internationally recruited staff members shall be required to move periodically to discharge new functions within or across duty stations under conditions established by the Secretary-General.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2021 United Nations. All rights reserved