vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Spécialiste des affaires politiques, P4 [Filled from Roster]
Intitulé code d’emploi: Spécialiste des affaires politiques
Département / Bureau: Département des affaires politiques et de la consolidation de la paix-Département des opérations de paixstructure partagée
Lieu d'affectation: NEW YORK
Période de candidature: 07 septembre 2021 - 21 octobre 2021
No de l’appel á candidature: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-DPO-SS-162746-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ce poste se trouve dans les départements des affaires politiques et de consolidation de la paix et des opérations de paix (DPPA-DPO) de la division Moyen-Orient (MED). Il rend compte au/a la responsable principal/e des affaires politiques/chef d'équipe de l'équipe du Golfe sous la supervision et les conseils généraux du directeur/de la directrice et du directeur /de la directrice adjoint/e de MED.

Responsabilités

Dans le cadre des pouvoirs délégués, le/la responsable des affaires politiques sera chargé/e des tâches suivantes :
• Examine et surveille les activités au Yémen ainsi que dans les pays concernés du Golfe ; évalue les tendances qui pourraient affecter la situation politique et l’impact politique des problèmes intrarégionaux ; recommande des solutions/actions possibles par les Nations Unies.
• Analyse les événements politiques et connexes dans la zone assignée en vue de fournir des conseils sur le Yémen à l’ASG Moyen-Orient et Asie-Pacifique et/ou aux USG DPPA et DPO.
• Prépare des rapports et des notes d’information au Conseil de sécurité ou à d’autres organes, selon les besoins ; rédige des notes, des documents d’information, des points de discussion, des discours et d’autres correspondances pour les hauts fonctionnaires de l’ONU sur le Yémen et d’autres pays du Golfe.
• Prépare les notes de réunion et les rapports de mission ; planifie et participe aux missions sur le terrain, au besoin.
• Participe régulièrement aux réunions pertinentes sur le Yémen et les pays du Golfe, y compris les réunions pertinentes du DPPA, du DPO, du DOS et d’autres réunions inter-agences des Nations Unies.
• Fournit des informations actualisées aux hauts fonctionnaires concernant les questions politiques de fond et les problèmes nationaux ou régionaux et fait des recommandations sur les mesures à prendre.
• Fournit des conseils et un appui technique au Bureau de l'Envoyé spécial du Secrétaire général pour le Yémen (OSESGY).
• Maintient des contacts étroits avec d’autres équipes au sein de la division Moyen-Orient et d’autres divisions DPPA-DPO, notamment la division Politique et médiation, la division Assistance électorale et le Bureau de l’État de droit et des institutions chargées de la sécurité ; d’autres départements, agences, fonds et programmes des Nations Unies ; Équipe pays des Nations Unies ; d’autres organisations internationales et gouvernements sur des questions de coordination et de politique, le cas échéant, sur des questions intéressant l’OSESGY et le Yémen.
• Exécute, en consultation avec le chef d’équipe de l’équipe du Golfe, les fonctions administratives relatives à la planification du personnel et au budget.
• Effectue d’autres tâches connexes selon les besoins.

Compétences

Professionnalisme :
-Démontrer une expérience de travail au sein ou avec le système des Nations Unies, en particulier dans le domaine de la paix et de la sécurité.
-Démontrer une connaissance du travail des Nations Unies et des fonctions, priorités et politiques des Départements des affaires politiques et de consolidation de la paix et des Operations de paix au siège et en ce qui concerne leurs opérations sur le terrain (missions politiques spéciales et opérations de maintien de la paix).
-Démontrer sa capacité à mener à bien des études approfondies et à tirer des conclusions sur les causes possibles et les solutions aux problèmes politiques au Yémen et dans la région du Golfe.
-Montrer la capacité de mettre en relation divers problèmes et perspectives avec les programmes politiques, sociaux, économiques et humanitaires dans les pays et les zones touchés.
-Faire preuve de fierté dans son travail et ses réalisations ; fait preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet ; apporter a l’exécution de ses taches la conscience et le souci d’efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d’honorer les engagements contractes, de tenir les délais impartis et d’obtenir les résultats escomptés ; agir pour des motifs professionnelles plutôt que personnels ; persévérer face aux obstacles et aux difficultés ; garder son calme dans les situations de crise.
-Souci de la prise en compte du principe de l’égalité des sexes et de la participation sur un pied d’égalité des hommes et des femmes à tous les domaines d’activité.

Esprit d’équipe :
-Collaborer avec ses collègues afin d’atteindre les objectifs de l’Organisation.
-Solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun et être prêt à apprendre de lui.
-Faire passer l’intérêt de l’équipe avant son avantage personnel.
-Accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s’y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre.
-Partager les réussites de de l’équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs.

Aptitude à la Communication :
- S’exprimer clairement et efficacement, tant oralement que par écrit.
- Ecoute les autres, interprète correctement les messages des autres et répond de manière appropriée.
- Poser les questions voulues afin d’obtenir des éclaircissements et faciliter le dialogue.
- Adapter le langage, le ton, le style et la présentation au public auquel on s’adresse.
- Partager l'information avec tous ceux qu’elle intéresse et tenir chacun au courant.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire de niveau maîtrise ou diplôme équivalent en sciences politiques, relations internationales, droit, administration publique ou dans une discipline apparentée. Un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle dans l'un de ces domaines, associé à deux années supplémentaires d'expérience professionnelle qualifiante, peut être accepté à la place du diplôme universitaire supérieur.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins sept années d'expérience à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés en sciences politiques, relations internationales, droit, résolution de conflits ou dans un domaine connexe.
Une expérience dans le traitement des questions de paix et de sécurité au Yémen, dans la région du Golfe et/ou au Moyen-Orient est requise.
Experience in and/or familiarity with the workings of the United Nations (or similar international organization), including special political or peacekeeping missions, is desirable.
Experience serving in a United Nations peace operation (or similar international organization) in a civilian (non-uniformed) capacity, preferably in the Middle East region, is desirable.

Connaissances linguistiques

L'anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du des Nations Unies. Pour le poste annoncé, la maîtrise de l'anglais (tant à l’orale qu’a l’écrite) est requise. La connaissance de l'arabe est souhaitable.

Méthode d'évaluation

L’évaluation des candidats qualifiés pourrait inclure un exercice d’évaluation, pouvant être suivi d’un entretien d’appréciation des compétences.

Notice spéciale

Le Secrétariat de l’Organisation des Nations Unies tient à ce que son personnel comprenne autant de femmes que d’hommes et souhaite que la représentation géographique soit aussi diverse que possible. Les candidatures de femmes sont fortement encouragées.

Pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement et l’emploi du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité, tout en tenant compte de la diversité géographique. Toutes les décisions de recrutement sont prises sur la base des qualifications des candidates et candidats et des besoins de l’Organisation. L’Organisation des Nations Unies s’engage à créer un environnement diversifié et inclusif et à instaurer un climat de respect mutuel. Elle recrute et emploie les membres de son personnel quels que soient leur identité de genre, leur orientation sexuelle, leur race, leur religion, leur origine culturelle ou ethnique ou leur handicap. Des aménagements raisonnables peuvent être prévus pour faciliter la participation des candidates ou candidats handicapé(e)s aux procédures de recrutement lorsque cela est indiqué et demandé dans le dossier de candidature.

Pour ce poste, les personnes originaires des États Membres suivants, qui sont non représentés ou sous-représentés au Secrétariat de l’ONU au 30 avril 2021, sont vivement encouragés à faire acte de candidature : Afghanistan, Andorre, Angola, Antigua-et-Barbuda, Bahreïn, Belize, Brunéi Darussalam, Cabo Verde, Cambodge, Chine, Comores, Cuba, Corée du Nord, Djibouti, Dominique, Émirats arabes unis, États fédérés de Micronésie, États-Unis d’Amérique, Fédération de Russie, Gabon, Grenade, Guinée équatoriale, Guinée-Bissau, Îles Marshall, Îles Salomon, Japon, Kiribati, Koweït, Lesotho, Libéria, Libye, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibie, Nauru, Norvège, Oman, Palaos, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Qatar, République bolivarienne du Venezuela, République de Corée, République démocratique populaire lao, République populaire démocratique de Corée, Saint-Vincent-et les Grenadines, Sainte-Lucie, Saint Marin, Sao Tomé-et-Principe, Somalie, Soudan du Sud, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Turkménistan, Turquie, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aux termes du paragraphe 3 de l’Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d’assurer à l’Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. Ne seront pas retenues les candidatures des personnes qui ont commis des violations du droit international des droits de l’homme, des violations du droit international humanitaire, des actes d’exploitation, d’atteintes ou de harcèlement sexuels, ou au sujet desquelles il existe des raisons plausibles de croire qu’elles ont été impliquées dans la commission de tels actes. L’expression « exploitation sexuelle » désigne le fait d’abuser ou de tenter d’abuser d’un état de vulnérabilité, d’un rapport de force inégal ou de rapports de confiance à des fins sexuelles, y compris mais non exclusivement en vue d’en tirer un avantage pécuniaire, social ou politique. On entend par « atteinte sexuelle » toute atteinte physique de nature sexuelle commise par la force, sous la contrainte ou à la faveur d’un rapport inégal, ou la menace d’une telle atteinte. Le harcèlement sexuel s'entend de tout comportement déplacé à connotation sexuelle raisonnablement propre ou de nature à choquer ou humilier, lorsqu'il entrave la bonne marche du service, est présenté comme une condition d'emploi ou crée au lieu de travail un climat d'intimidation, d'hostilité ou de vexation, et lorsque ce comportement est assez grave pour justifier le licenciement de son auteur. La candidature de personnes qui ont commis des infractions autres que des infractions mineures au code de la route ne sera pas retenue.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

La considération dominante dans l’engagement, la mutation ou la promotion du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. En acceptant une offre d’engagement, les membres du personnel sont soumis(es) à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui peut leur assigner l’une quelconque des tâches ou l’un quelconque des postes de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, conformément à l’alinéa c) de l’article 1.2 du Statut du personnel. Dans ce contexte, tous les membres du personnel recrutés sur le plan international sont tenus de changer de fonctions périodiquement à l’intérieur d’un même lieu d’affectation ou dans un autre lieu d’affectation, dans les conditions fixées par le Secrétaire général.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils ou elles peuvent consulter le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat, en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à 11:59 p.m. (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2021 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER, P4
Job Code Title: POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER
Department/Office: Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs-Department of Peace Operations-Shared Structure
Duty Station: NEW YORK
Posting Period: 07 September 2021 - 21 October 2021
Job Opening Number: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-DPO-SS-162746-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity

Org. Setting and Reporting

This post is found in the Middle East Division (MED) of the Departments of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs and Peace Operations (DPPA-DPO). It reports to the Senior Political Affairs Officer/Team Leader of the Gulf Team under the overall supervision and guidance of the Director and Deputy Director of MED.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Political Affairs Officer will be responsible for the following duties:
• Reviews and monitors activities in Yemen as well as relevant Gulf countries; assesses trends which might affect the political situation and the political impact of intra-regional issues; recommends solutions/possible action by United Nations.
• Analyses political and related events within assigned area with a view to provide advice on Yemen, to the ASG Middle East and Asia Pacific and/or USGs DPPA and DPO.
• Prepares reports and briefings to the Security Council, or other bodies, as required; drafts notes, background papers, talking points, speeches and other correspondence for senior UN officials on Yemen and other Gulf countries.
• Prepares meeting notes and mission reports; plans and participates in field missions, as required.
• Participates regularly in relevant meetings on Yemen and Gulf countries, including relevant DPPA, DPO, DOS and other UN interagency meetings.
• Provides up-to-date information to senior officials regarding substantive political matters and country or regional issues and makes recommendations on actions to take.
• Provides ongoing advice and backstopping support to the Office of the Special Envoy of the Secretary-General on Yemen (OSESGY).
• Maintains close contacts with other teams within the Middle East Division and other DPPA-DPO Divisions, including the Policy and Mediation Division, the Electoral Assistance Division, and the Office of Rule of Law and Security Institutions; other UN departments, agencies, funds and programmes; UN Country Team; other international organizations and governments on coordination and policy matters, as appropriate, on matters relevant to OSESGY and Yemen.
• Carries out, in consultation with the Team Leader of the Gulf Team, administrative functions relating to the staff planning and budget.
• Performs other related duties as required.

Competencies

• Professionalism – Demonstrates experience working in or with the UN system, particularly in the area of peace and security. Shows knowledge of the work of the United Nations and the functions, priorities and policies of the Departments of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs and Peace Operations at both Headquarters and with respect to their operations in the field (special political missions and peacekeeping operations). Shows ability to complete in-depth studies and reach conclusions on possible causes and solutions to political problems in Yemen and the Gulf region. Shows ability to relate to various issues and perspectives to political, social, economic and humanitarian programmes in affected countries and areas. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations. Takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work.

• Communication: Speaks and writes clearly and effectively; listens to others, correctly interprets messages from others and responds appropriately; asks questions to clarify, and exhibits interest in having two-way communication; tailors language, tone, style and format to match audience; demonstrates openness in sharing information and keeping people informed.

• Teamwork: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent) in political science, international relations, law, public administration or other related. A first-level university degree in combination with two years of qualifying work experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree.

Work Experience

A minimum of seven years of progressively responsible experience in political science, international relations, law, security, conflict resolution or related area is required.
Experience in dealing with peace and security issues in Yemen, the Gulf region and/or the Middle East is required.
Experience in and/or familiarity with the workings of the United Nations (or similar international organization), including special political or peacekeeping missions, is desirable.
Experience serving in a United Nations peace operation (or similar international organization) in a civilian (non-uniformed) capacity, preferably in the Middle East region, is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For the position advertised, fluency in English (both oral and written) is required. Knowledge of another official United Nations language is an advantage.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

Special Notice

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance and geographical diversity in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

At the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the recruitment and employment of staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity, with due regard to geographic diversity. All employment decisions are made on the basis of qualifications and organizational needs. The United Nations is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive environment of mutual respect. The United Nations recruits and employs staff regardless of gender identity, sexual orientation, race, religious, cultural and ethnic backgrounds or disabilities. Reasonable accommodation for applicants with disabilities may be provided to support participation in the recruitment process when requested and indicated in the application.

For this position, applicants from the following Member States, which are unrepresented or underrepresented in the UN Secretariat as of 30 April 2021, are strongly encouraged to apply: Afghanistan, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Belize, Brunei Darussalam, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, China, Comoros, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Norway, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Vanuatu, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation, sexual abuse, or sexual harassment, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions. The term “sexual harassment” means any unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature that might reasonably be expected or be perceived to cause offence or humiliation, when such conduct interferes with work, is made a condition of employment or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment, and when the gravity of the conduct warrants the termination of the perpetrator’s working relationship. Candidates who have committed crimes other than minor traffic offences may not be considered for employment.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

The paramount consideration in the appointment, transfer, or promotion of staff shall be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. By accepting an offer of appointment, United Nations staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and assignment by him or her to any activities or offices of the United Nations in accordance with staff regulation 1.2 (c). In this context, all internationally recruited staff members shall be required to move periodically to discharge new functions within or across duty stations under conditions established by the Secretary-General.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2021 United Nations. All rights reserved