vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Spécialiste des questions politiques (hors classe), P5
Intitulé code d’emploi: Spécialiste des affaires politiques hors classe
Département / Bureau: Département des affaires politiques et de la consolidation de la paix
Lieu d'affectation: NEW YORK
Période de candidature: 01 décembre 2021 - 14 janvier 2022
No de l’appel á candidature: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-169176-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ce poste est à pourvoir au Département des affaires politiques et de la consolidation de la paix au Siège. Sous la supervision générale du Directeur de la Division des affaires du Conseil de sécurité, le titulaire fait directement rapport au Chef du Service du secrétariat des organes subsidiaires du Conseil de sécurité.

Responsabilités

Dans les limites des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués, le titulaire s'acquitte des fonctions ci-après:

• Formuler des stratégies sur des questions politiques ; proposer une vision ou une orientation de travail ; proposer des directives et des plans d'action en vue d'apporter des réponses immédiates et à long terme aux problèmes politiques en général et en particulier à ceux liés au Conseil de sécurité ; identifier les nouveaux enjeux liés aux mandats du groupe ; analyser les conséquences et formuler des recommandations sur les éventuelles stratégies et mesures.
• Planifier et mettre en œuvre les activités opérationnelles relevant des activités de la Division et du Département, notamment en fournissant un appui technique au Conseil de sécurité, selon qu'il convient ; introduire une approche intégrée incluant une dimension fondée sur les droits, une sensibilité à la prévention des conflits et la prise en compte de la problématique hommes-femmes dans la politique, la planification et les activités opérationnelles du groupe.
• Planifier, gérer et coordonner les divers programmes, projets et activités nécessitant une implication et une participation interdépartementales ou interinstitutionnelles.
• Préparer des notes d’information et des fiches de discussion pour le Secrétaire général, les conseillers principaux, le Secrétaire général adjoint et le Sous-Secrétaire général.
• Superviser la rédaction des rapports du Secrétariat général au Conseil de sécurité.
• Coordonner et diriger la fourniture de services de secrétariat au Conseil de sécurité et lors des conférences spéciales et sommets.
• Fournir continuellement des conseils et des orientations aux Présidents ainsi qu'aux autres bureaux élus des organes intergouvernementaux, concernant l'organisation du travail, l'état des négociations et la gestion des affaires, notamment l'interprétation du règlement intérieur.
• Diriger et encadrer une équipe ; planifier et répartir les tâches ; former, guider et évaluer les fonctionnaires ; concourir à la sélection et au recrutement de nouveaux fonctionnaires et à la mise au point de programmes de formation.
• Agir en tant que coordonnateur des missions d'appui et des activités de coordination complexes.
• Gérer, coordonner, organiser et superviser les recherches portant sur diverses questions politiques du programme du Conseil de sécurité.
•Représenter la Division, le Bureau ou la Mission lors des séminaires, conférences et tables rondes.
•Répondre et formuler des réponses aux observations, déclarations et demandes de parties, et gérer les opérations impliquant plusieurs composantes, notamment les opérations civiles, militaires et humanitaires.
• Élaborer le programme de travail, le budget et le plan à moyen terme du Groupe et participer à l'approbation de l'ensemble du programme de travail et des questions administratives concernant la Section, la Division, ou la Mission ; coordonner et superviser le travail des collaborateurs et celui du Groupe.
• Établir et maintenir des relations avec de hauts fonctionnaires gouvernementaux et les conseiller sur les questions et politiques d'intérêt commun.
• S’acquitter de toutes autres tâches connexes qui pourraient lui être confiées.

Compétences

Professionnalisme: Connaissance des activités des organes intergouvernementaux, notamment de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, du Conseil de sécurité et des organes subsidiaires de l'Organisation. Aptitude à évaluer les situations politiques internationales dans la zone sous sa responsabilité. Aptitude à diriger des participants et coordonner les activités à des niveaux différents dans le cadre des opérations sur le terrain et celles relevant du régime commun de l'Organisation de Nations Unies. Tirer fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations ; faire preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet ; apporter à l’exécution de ses tâches la conscience et le souci d’efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d'honorer les engagements contractés, de tenir les délais impartis et d’obtenir les résultats escomptés ; agir pour des motifs professionnels plutôt que personnels ; persévérer face aux obstacles et aux difficultés ; garder son calme dans les situations de crise.

Esprit d’équipe: Collaborer avec ses collègues afin d’atteindre les objectifs de l’Organisation. Solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun et être prêt à apprendre de lui. Faire passer l’intérêt de l’équipe avant son avantage personnel. Accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s’y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre. Partager les réussites de l’équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs.

Aptitude à planifier et à organiser: Définir clairement des buts compatibles avec les stratégies convenues ; hiérarchiser les activités et tâches prioritaires ; modifier les priorités en fonction des besoins ; prévoir suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien ; tenir compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification ; suivre l'exécution des plans et des mesures et les modifier s'il y a lieu; tirer le meilleur parti du temps dont on dispose.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau du master dans le domaine des sciences politiques, des relations internationales, de l'économie internationale, du droit, de l'administration publique ou dans toute autre discipline apparentée. À défaut, un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle assorti de deux années supplémentaires d’expérience pertinente.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins dix années d’expérience professionnelle, à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés, dans le domaine des sciences politiques, des relations internationales, du droit, du désarmement, de la résolution des conflits ou dans un domaine connexe.

Une expérience dans la fourniture d’un appui fonctionnel au Conseil de sécurité ou à ses organes subsidiaires est obligatoire.

Une expérience dans la préparation de rapports à présenter aux organes intergouvernementaux ou aux conseils d'administration est souhaitable.

Une expérience dans la facilitation et la coordination de processus multipartites est souhaitable.

Une expérience dans la gestion de la crise nucléaire iranienne et de son examen par le Conseil de sécurité est souhaitable.

Connaissances linguistiques

L’anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Pour le
poste faisant l’objet du présent avis, la maîtrise de l'anglais est indispensable. La connaissance d’une
deuxième langue officielle de l’Organisation est souhaitable.

Méthode d'évaluation

Les candidats qualifiés sont susceptibles d’être invités à participer à un test puis, éventuellement, à un entretien
axé sur les compétences.

Notice spéciale

Ce poste est financé pour une durée limitée d’un an mais pourra être prorogé.

Les membres du personnel sont placés sous l'autorité du Secrétaire général qui leur fixe les tâches à accomplir. Dans ce contexte, tous les fonctionnaires peuvent être appelés à changer périodiquement de fonction au cours de leur carrière, conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur.

Pour pouvoir poser leur candidature, les fonctionnaires du Secrétariat doivent avoir à leur actif le nombre requis de mutations latérales ou géographiques, lesquelles seront indiquées dans la notice personnelle et la lettre de couverture.

Pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement et l’emploi du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes qui possèdent les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité, tout en tenant compte de la diversité géographique. Toutes les décisions de recrutement sont prises sur la base des qualifications des candidates et candidats et des besoins de l’Organisation. L’Organisation des Nations Unies s’engage à instaurer un climat où règnent diversité, inclusion et respect mutuel. Elle recrute et emploie des personnes quels que soient leur identité de genre, leur orientation sexuelle, leur race, leur religion, leur origine culturelle ou ethnique ou leur handicap. Des aménagements raisonnables peuvent être prévus pour faciliter la participation des candidates ou candidats handicapé(e)s aux procédures de recrutement lorsque cela est indiqué et demandé dans le dossier de candidature.

Le Secrétariat de l'ONU s'est engagé à atteindre l'équilibre entre les sexes à 50/50 dans son personnel. Les candidates sont fortement encouragées à postuler ce poste.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aux termes du paragraphe 3 de l’Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d’assurer à l’Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. Ne seront pas retenues les candidatures des personnes qui ont commis des violations du droit international des droits de l’homme, des violations du droit international humanitaire, des actes d’exploitation, d’atteintes ou de harcèlement sexuels, ou au sujet desquelles il existe des raisons plausibles de croire qu’elles ont été impliquées dans la commission de tels actes. L’expression « exploitation sexuelle » désigne le fait d’abuser ou de tenter d’abuser d’un état de vulnérabilité, d’un rapport de force inégal ou de rapports de confiance à des fins sexuelles, y compris mais non exclusivement en vue d’en tirer un avantage pécuniaire, social ou politique. On entend par « atteinte sexuelle » toute atteinte physique de nature sexuelle commise par la force, sous la contrainte ou à la faveur d’un rapport inégal, ou la menace d’une telle atteinte. Le harcèlement sexuel s'entend de tout comportement déplacé à connotation sexuelle raisonnablement propre ou de nature à choquer ou humilier, lorsqu'il entrave la bonne marche du service, est présenté comme une condition d'emploi ou crée au lieu de travail un climat d'intimidation, d'hostilité ou de vexation, et lorsque ce comportement est assez grave pour justifier le licenciement de son auteur. La candidature de personnes qui ont commis des infractions autres que des infractions mineures au code de la route ne sera pas retenue.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

La considération dominante dans l’engagement, la mutation ou la promotion du personnel est la nécessité de s’assurer les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité. En acceptant une offre d’engagement, les membres du personnel sont soumis(es) à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui peut leur assigner l’une quelconque des tâches ou l’un quelconque des postes de l’Organisation des Nations Unies, conformément à l’alinéa c) de l’article 1.2 du Statut du personnel. Dans ce contexte, tous les membres du personnel recrutés sur le plan international sont tenus de changer de fonctions périodiquement à l’intérieur d’un même lieu d’affectation ou dans un autre lieu d’affectation, dans les conditions fixées par le Secrétaire général.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils ou elles peuvent consulter le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat, en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à 11:59 p.m. (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER, P5
Job Code Title: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER
Department/Office: Department of Political Affairs and Peace-building
Duty Station: NEW YORK
Posting Period: 01 December 2021 - 14 January 2022
Job Opening Number: 21-Political Affairs-DPPA-169176-R-New York (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Org. Setting and Reporting

This post is found within the Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs (DPPA) at Headquarters. Under the overall supervision of the Director of the Security Council Affairs Division, the incumbent reports directly to the Chief of the Security Council Subsidiary Organs Branch.

The Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs (DPPA) focuses primarily on five action areas in international peace and security, ensuring sound analysis and early warning, preventing conflict and engaging in peacemaking, managing political crises and violent conflicts, sustaining peace, and enhancing partnerships. The Department's mandate is to prevent and resolve conflict through inclusive political solutions.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Senior Political Affairs Officer will be responsible for the following duties:

• Formulates political affairs strategies; develops a vision or direction for work; proposes policy directives and plan of action for immediate and long range solutions to political problems in general and specifically those that relate to the Security Council; identifies emerging issues pertaining to the mandates of the unit; analyses implications and makes recommendations on possible strategies and measures.

• Plans and implements the operational activities related to the work of the division/department, i.e., providing substantive support to the Security Council where appropriate; incorporates an integrated approach that includes a rights-based dimension, conflict prevention sensitivity, and a gender perspective into the policy, planning and operational activities of the unit.

• Plans, coordinates and manages programmes, projects and activities requiring interdepartmental and/or interagency involvement and participation.

• Prepares briefing notes and talking points for the Secretary-General, Senior Advisers, Under-Secretary-General/Assistant Secretary-General.

• Supervises the drafting of Secretary-General’s reports to the Security Council.

• Coordinates and directs the provision of secretariat services for the Security Council, special conferences and summits.

• Provides continuous guidance and advice to the Presidents and Chairs as well as other elected offices of intergovernmental bodies concerning the organization of work, status of negotiations, conduct of business including interpretation of the rules of procedure.

• Leads and directs a work team; plans and allocates work assignments; coaches, mentors, and evaluates staff; participates in recruitment and selection of new staff and in the development of training programs.

• Acts as coordinator for complex coordination and support missions.

• Manages, coordinates, organizes and supervises research on a variety of political issues on the agenda of the Security Council.

• Represents division/office/mission at round tables, seminars and conferences.

• Responds to/prepares responses to comments, statements, queries of parties and manages operations involving several components, including civilian, military and humanitarian operations.

• Formulates the programme of work, budget and medium-term plan of the unit and participates in the overall approval of the programme of work, and administrative matters concerning the Section/Division or mission; coordinates and oversees work of colleagues and unit.

• Develops and maintains relations with senior government officials and advises them on issues and policies of mutual concern.

• Performs other related duties as required.

Competencies

PROFESSIONALISM: Knowledge of the work of intergovernmental bodies, including the United Nations, the Security Council and its subsidiary bodies. Ability to evaluate international political situations in area of assignment. Ability to manage and coordinate many different levels and participants in operations in both the field and UN common system. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations.

TEAMWORK: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

PLANNING & ORGANIZING: Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.

Building trust: Provides an environment in which others can talk and act without fear of repercussion. Manages in a deliberate and predictable way. Operates with transparency; has no hidden agenda. Places confidence in colleagues, staff members and clients. Gives proper credit to others. Follows through on agreed upon actions. Treats sensitive or confidential information appropriately.

Judgement/decision making: Identifies the key issues in a complex situation, and comes to the heart of the problem quickly. Gathers relevant information before making a decision. Considers positive and negative impacts of decisions prior to making them. Takes decisions with an eye to the impact on others and on the Organization. Proposes a course of action or makes a recommendation based on all available information. Checks assumptions against facts. Determines that the actions proposed will satisfy the expressed and underlying needs for the decision. Makes tough decisions when necessary.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent degree) in political science, international relations, international economics, law, public administration or related field. A first-level university degree in combination with two additional years of qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree.

Work Experience

A minimum of ten years of progressively responsible experience in political science, international relations, law, disarmament, security, development management, conflict resolution or related area is required.

Experience in the provision of substantive support to the Security Council or its subsidiary organs is required.

Experience in preparing reports to intergovernmental bodies or Executive Boards is desirable.

Experience in facilitating and coordinating multi-stakeholder processes is desirable.

Experience in dealing with the Iranian nuclear issue and its consideration by the Security Council is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For the post advertised, fluency in English is required. Knowledge of another UN official languages is desirable.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

Special Notice

This position is funded for a finite period of one year and may be subject to extension.

Staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and to assignment by him or her. In this context, all staff are expected to move periodically to new functions in their careers in accordance with established rules and procedures.

Staff members of the United Nations Secretariat must fulfill the lateral move(s) requirements, or geographical to be eligible to apply for this vacancy. Staff members are requested to indicate all qualifying lateral or geographical move(s) in their Personal History Profile (PHP) and cover note.

At the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the recruitment and employment of staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity, with due regard to geographic diversity. All employment decisions are made on the basis of qualifications and organizational needs. The United Nations is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive environment of mutual respect. The United Nations recruits and employs staff regardless of gender identity, sexual orientation, race, religious, cultural and ethnic backgrounds or disabilities. Reasonable accommodation for applicants with disabilities may be provided to support participation in the recruitment process when requested and indicated in the application.

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance and geographical diversity in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

For this position, applicants from the following Member States, which are unrepresented or underrepresented in the UN Secretariat as of 31 August 2021, are strongly encouraged to apply: Afghanistan, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Belize, Brunei Darussalam, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, China, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Norway, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Vanuatu, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation, sexual abuse, or sexual harassment, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions. The term “sexual harassment” means any unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature that might reasonably be expected or be perceived to cause offence or humiliation, when such conduct interferes with work, is made a condition of employment or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment, and when the gravity of the conduct warrants the termination of the perpetrator’s working relationship. Candidates who have committed crimes other than minor traffic offences may not be considered for employment.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

The paramount consideration in the appointment, transfer, or promotion of staff shall be the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. By accepting an offer of appointment, United Nations staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and assignment by him or her to any activities or offices of the United Nations in accordance with staff regulation 1.2 (c). In this context, all internationally recruited staff members shall be required to move periodically to discharge new functions within or across duty stations under conditions established by the Secretary-General.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved