vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: 2016 - Concours de recrutement de traducteurs de langue espagnole, P-2/P-3
Intitulé code d’emploi: TRANSLATOR, SPANISH
Département / Bureau: DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL ASSEMBLY AND CONFERENCE MANAGEMENT
Lieu d'affectation: VIENNA; SANTIAGO; NAIROBI; NEW YORK; GENEVA;
Période de candidature: 14 mars 2016 - 14 avril 2016
No de l’appel á candidature: 16-Language-DGACM-57602-L- (L)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Notice spéciale

• Le présent avis s'adresse aux candidats externes qui souhaitent se présenter en 2016 au concours de recrutement de traducteur de langue espagnole. La première partie du concours est prévue de se tenir, de manière provisoire, à la date du 28 juin 2016.

• Toutes les candidatures seront examinées par le jury d’examen. Si elles sont particulièrement nombreuses, le Jury se réserve le droit de n'admettre à concourir que les candidats jugés les plus qualifiés, après examen des qualifications venant en sus de celles qui sont exigées au minimum. Tous les candidats seront avisés par écrit de la suite donnée à leur demande d'admission à concourir. Les décisions du Jury sont sans appel.

• A partir de l’ensemble des résultats du concours, le Jury soumettra au Sous-Secrétaire général à la gestion des ressources humaines les noms des candidats à inscrire sur la liste de lauréats. Tous ceux qui ont pris part au concours seront avisés par écrit de la recommandation du Jury les concernant. Les recommandations du Jury sont sans appel et les notes ne seront pas communiquées.

• Les candidats qui sont reçus au concours et inscrits sur la liste des lauréats seront nommés à mesure que des postes deviendront vacants dans les services linguistiques de langue espagnole à Genève, Nairobi, New York, Santiago et Vienne en fonction des besoins de ces services en termes d’expertise et de combinaison de langues. Les affectations étant soumises au principe de la rotation, ils pourront être transférés, après leur première affectation, à un autre bureau de l'ONU susmentionné, selon les besoins de l'Organisation. Les lauréats recrutés sont censés travailler pendant cinq ans au moins dans les services linguistiques. Selon les besoins du service, les fonctionnaires des services linguistiques peuvent être appelés à travailler en dehors des horaires normaux, y compris les samedis, dimanches et jours fériés.

• Les lauréats à qui il est fait appel pour pourvoir des postes vacants sont normalement nommés pour une durée déterminée de deux ans à la classe P-2. La classe P-2 compte 12 échelons dont chacun correspond à une augmentation annuelle de traitement accordée pourvu que les résultats soient satisfaisants. À l'issue de cette période d'essai de deux ans, les fonctionnaires dont le travail a donné satisfaction verront leur engagement prolongé et pourront être promus à la classe P-3, qui compte 15 échelons. Les traducteurs qualifiés qui justifient de plusieurs années d'expérience professionnelle sur le plan international et ont fait la preuve qu'ils étaient capables de produire des traductions de qualité peuvent être recrutés à la classe P-3. À l'issue de cette période d'essai de deux ans, les fonctionnaires dont le travail a donné satisfaction verront leur engagement prolongé. Ceux dont le travail n'a pas donné satisfaction ne seront pas rengagés.


• Les lauréats qui reçoivent une offre d'engagement sont encouragés à l'accepter. Ceux qui en déclinent deux seront rayés de la liste.

• Les dossiers incomplets, notamment ceux qui ne comprennent pas la lettre de motivation rédigée EN ESPAGNOL comme précisé dans la rubrique « Méthode d’Evaluation » ou de pièces justifiant la connaissance des langues, ne seront pas examinés. Aucun dossier ne sera accepté après la date limite fixée sur Inspira (heure locale de New York).


AVIS A L'INTENTION DES CANDIDATS INTERNES

• Le présent avis s'adresse aux fonctionnaires du Secrétariat de la classe P-3 ou d'une classe inférieure qui souhaitent se présenter au concours de recrutement de traducteurs de langue espagnole de 2016, conformément aux dispositions des instructions administratives ST/AI/1998/7 et ST/AI/2000/1, telle que modifiée par l'instruction administrative ST/AI/1998/7/Amend.1 et ST/AI/2003/1.

• Les modalités d'affectation des fonctionnaires de l'Organisation qui sont inscrits sur la liste des lauréats et à qui il est fait appel pour pourvoir des postes vacants sont les suivantes :

1.Les fonctionnaires retenus pour pourvoir les vacances de poste seront assignes en tant que traducteur de langue espagnole pour une période d'essai de deux ans selon les règles en vigueur. Les administrateurs d'une classe inférieure à P-2 et les agents des services généraux ont droit à une indemnité de fonctions qui aligne leur rémunération sur celle de la classe P-2. Les fonctionnaires des classes P-2 et P-3 sont affectés sans changement de classe.

2.Si leur travail donne satisfaction pendant la période d'essai, les fonctionnaires bénéficiant d'une indemnité de fonctions et les fonctionnaires de la classe P-2 pourront être promus à la classe P-3 sur la recommandation du Département de l'Assemblée générale et de la gestion des conférences et du Bureau de la gestion des ressources humaines. Les fonctionnaires de la classe P-3 dont le travail aura donné satisfaction pendant la période d'essai seront confirmés dans leur poste à la classe P-3. Après avoir accompli deux années de service satisfaisant au titre d'un engagement de durée déterminée, les fonctionnaires pourront se voir offrir un engagement continu à condition d'avoir démontré qu'ils possèdent les qualifications requises pour faire partie du personnel de carrière de l'Organisation. Les fonctionnaires dont les services n'auront pas donné satisfaction pendant la période d'essai seront réaffectés à un poste de la classe de celui qu'ils occupaient antérieurement, et ceux d'entre eux qui percevaient une indemnité de fonctions cesseront d'y avoir droit.

• Les fonctionnaires d'organismes rattachés à l'ONU et ceux qui ont été recrutés expressément pour un organe, fonds ou programme des Nations Unies ou pour des missions spéciales sont considérés comme des candidats externes. S'ils sont reçus au concours, ils se verront offrir un nouvel engagement à l'Organisation dans les conditions et selon les normes régissant la procédure de recrutement normale.

Cadre organisationnel

Les postes à pourvoir, qui relèvent du Département de l'Assemblée générale et de la gestion des conférences (DGACM) au Siège à New York, Offices des Nations Unies à Genève, Nairobi et Vienne, ainsi que de la Commission Economique l’Amérique Latine et les Caraïbes (CEPALC) à Santiago (Chili) sont placés sous la direction du Chef du Service espagnol de traduction dans le cas du Siège et du chef de section ou de groupe concerné dans le cas des autres lieux d'affectation.

Responsabilités

Dans les limites des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués, le traducteur exerce les fonctions énumérées ci-après (la liste étant générique, les fonctions en question ne sont pas systématiquement confiées au titulaire) :

• Traduction : traduire, sous le contrôle de réviseurs, des documents, dont des comptes rendus, portant sur les diverses questions (politiques, sociales, juridiques, économiques, financières, administratives, scientifiques et techniques) traitées à l'ONU.

• S'acquitter de tâches connexes, selon les besoins.

Compétences

•Professionnalisme: Tirer fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations. Faire preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet. Apporter à l'exécution de ses tâches la conscience professionnelle et le souci d'efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d'honorer les engagements pris, de tenir les délais impartis et d'obtenir les résultats escomptés. Régler sa conduite sur les impératifs professionnels plutôt que sur des considérations personnelles. Persévérer face aux obstacles et aux difficultés. Garder son calme dans les situations de crise. Prendre la responsabilité de transversaliser la problématique hommes-femmes et d'assurer l'égale participation des femmes et des hommes dans toutes les activités.

• Esprit d'équipe: Collaborer avec ses collègues afin d'atteindre les objectifs de l'Organisation. Solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun. Être prêt à apprendre des autres. Faire passer l'intérêt de l'équipe avant son avantage personnel. Accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s'y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre. Partager les réussites de l'équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs.

• Volonté de perfectionnement:
Se tenir au fait de l'évolution de sa propre profession ou spécialité. S'employer activement à progresser, sur les plans tant professionnel que personnel. Contribuer à l'apprentissage de ses collègues et subordonnés. Être disposé à apprendre d'autrui. Se tenir au courant de la façon dont son apport est perçu afin d'apprendre et de se perfectionner.

• Ouverture à la technologie:
Se tenir au fait de l'innovation technologique. Comprendre les avantages et les inconvénients que présente la technologie pour le travail du service. S'employer activement à appliquer la technologie aux tâches qui s'y prêtent. Être disposé à s'initier aux technologies nouvelles.

Formation

a) Être titulaire au minimum d'un diplôme d'études supérieures de premier niveau délivré par une université ou d’un diplôme équivalent sanctionnant au moins 3 années d’études au sein d’une école agréée de traduction, de philologie, ou de linguistique où l’espagnol est la langue d'enseignement (au cours de l’épreuve écrite du concours, les candidats devront seulement traduire quelques textes en anglais) ; ou

b) Être titulaire au minimum d'un diplôme d'études supérieures de premier niveau sanctionnant au moins 3 années d’études dans n’importe quel autre domaine et délivré par une université ou un établissement de statut équivalent où l’espagnol est la langue d'enseignement (au cours de l’épreuve écrite du concours, les candidats devront traduire des textes en anglais et un texte en arabe, chinois, français ou russe)

Le diplôme ou titre visé ci-dessus peut ne pas être exigé des fonctionnaires qui, de l'avis du Jury, ont des diplômes sanctionnant des études secondaires et postsecondaires d'un niveau suffisant délivrés par des établissements (école secondaire et université ou autre établissement d'enseignement supérieur) où la principale langue d'enseignement est l’espagnol et qui, au 31décembre 1989, avaient accumulé au moins cinq années de service continu au Secrétariat de l'ONU.

Expérience professionnelle

Aucune expérience professionnelle n'est requise.

Connaissances linguistiques

• Avoir une parfaite maîtrise de l’espagnol, qui doit être la langue principale (la langue principale s'entend de la langue dans laquelle le candidat est le plus apte à travailler).

• Avoir une excellente connaissance de l'anglais.

• Les candidats qui sont titulaires au minimum d'un diplôme d'études supérieures de premier niveau délivré par une université ou d’un diplôme équivalent dans n’importe quel autre domaine que la traduction, la philologie ou la linguistique délivré par une université ou un établissement de statut équivalent où l’espagnol est la langue d'enseignement doivent posséder une excellente connaissance d'une autre langue officielle de l'ONU (arabe, chinois, français ou russe).

• Le Jury d'examen, exige que la connaissance de langues officielles soit attestée par des pièces justificatives. Les candidats doivent justifier des connaissances linguistiques qu'ils affirment posséder en joignant à leur dossier de candidature copie de tout diplôme ou certificat délivré par une école de langues. Ils pourront, avant d'être convoqués, être invités à présenter des pièces supplémentaires attestant de leurs titres, de leurs connaissances linguistiques et de leur expérience.

Méthode d'évaluation

• Les candidats doivent présenter leur demande d'admission à concourir dans le système Inspira et écrire une lettre de motivation d’environ 300 mots EN ESPAGNOL, expliquant pourquoi ils souhaitent travailler comme traducteurs aux Nations Unies.

• Les candidatures seront soigneusement évaluées par rapport aux critères arrêtés ci-dessus, et seuls les candidats jugés qualifiés seront convoqués à l'écrit. Seuls ceux qui sont reçus à l'écrit seront convoqués à l'oral.

• La partie écrite du concours est prévue de se tenir, de manière provisoire, à la date du 28 juin 2016. Elle sera entièrement effectuée en ligne, utilisant une plateforme dédiée, et sera constituée des 2 options ci-dessous. Au cours de la procédure de candidature, les candidats devront choisir une de ces 2 options en fonction de leur formation.


Option A
Pour les candidats titulaires d’un diplôme de traduction, de philologie, ou de linguistique
1. Exercice à choix multiples : sélectionnant la meilleure traduction vers l’espagnol de phrases en anglais (45 minutes)

2. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte général en anglais (90 minutes).

Les épreuves 1 et 2 étant éliminatoires, les épreuves 3 et 4 ne seront notées que pour les candidats ayant réussi les épreuves 1 et 2.

3. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte en anglais, à choisir par le candidat parmi un total de quatre textes spécialisés (un texte économique, juridique, social/politique, ou scientifique/technique) (90 minutes)

4. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte en anglais, à choisir par le candidat parmi un total de quatre textes spécialisés (un texte économique, juridique, social/politique, ou scientifique/technique) (90 minutes). Le texte spécialisé choisi doit être différent de celui choisi dans l’exercice 3.

Option B
Pour les candidats non titulaires d’un diplôme de traduction, de philologie, ou de linguistique
1. Exercice à choix multiples : sélectionnant la meilleure traduction vers l’espagnol de phrases en anglais (45 minutes).

2. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte général en anglais (90 minutes).

Les épreuves 1 et 2 étant éliminatoires, les épreuves 3 et 4 ne seront notées que pour les candidats ayant réussi les épreuves 1 et 2.

3. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte en anglais, à choisir par le candidat parmi un total de quatre textes spécialisés (un texte économique, juridique, social/politique, ou scientifique/technique) (90 minutes).

4. Traduction vers l’espagnol d’un texte à choisir par le candidat parmi un total de quatre textes rédigés dans l’une des langues officielles de travail des Nations Unies : arabe, chinois, français, ou russe (90 minutes).

Les candidats qui sont titulaires à la fois d’un diplôme de traduction, de philologie, ou de linguistique et d’un diplôme équivalent dans un autre domaine, devront choisir entre les options A ou B au cours de la procédure de candidature.

L’utilisation d’un dictionnaire ou d’un autre ouvrage de référence sera autorisée pendant le concours

Les candidats reçus à l'écrit seront convoqués par le Jury à un entretien d’appréciation des compétences au cours duquel les examinateurs évalueront s'ils possèdent les compétences requises. Ils devront éventuellement subir, lors de l'entretien, des épreuves supplémentaires de courte durée (notamment une épreuve surveillée de traduction, un exercice de révision de texte, et/ou exercice de post-édition). A ce stade du processus, les candidats devront effectuer les traductions sans l'utilisation d’aucune ressource de référence. L'entretien faisant partie intégrante du concours, les candidats qui y sont convoqués ne doivent pas en déduire qu'ils seront nécessairement inscrits sur la liste des lauréats ou engagés.

Charte des Nations Unies

Les candidats devront répondre aux exigences de l’Article 101, paragraphe 3, de la Charte ainsi qu’aux conditions requises pour le poste. Les Nations Unies s’attendent aux plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d’intégrité chez l’ensemble de son personnel, ce qui inclut le respect des droits de l’homme et du droit humanitaire. En conséquence, les candidats pourront être sujets à des procédures de vérification contrôlant, sans s’y limiter, leur perpétration, ou accusation de perpétration, de délit et/ou de violation des droits de l’homme et du droit humanitaire international.

Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. (Charte des Nations Unies - Chapitre III, Article 8). Le Secrétariat des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Les candidats sont invités à suivre attentivement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plate-forme de recrutement en ligne, inspira. Pour des conseils plus détaillés, les candidats peuvent se référer à « Aperçu... Procédure de dépôt de candidature » et le manuel d'instruction pour les candidats, qui peut être consulté en cliquant sur "Manuels" sur le côté supérieur droit du navigateur Web d’inspira dans la page principale de l’utilisateur.
Les candidatures déposées font l'objet d'une présélection automatisée selon les critères d'évaluation publiés de l’Appel à Candidature (AC) et sur la base des informations fournies par les candidats. Concernant les exigences de l’Appel à candidature,

Les candidats doivent fournir des informations complètes et précises/exactes relatives à leurs qualifications, dont leur formation, leur expérience professionnelle et leurs connaissances linguistiques. Chaque candidat doit garder à l’esprit que tout dépôt de candidatures incomplètes ou incorrectes/erronées peut les rendre irrecevables dans le cadre de l’appel à candidatures. Une pré-sélection et évaluation des candidatures seront effectuées en fonctions des informations fournies. Une fois déposées, les candidatures ne peuvent pas être modifiées. Les personnes dont la candidature est retenue pour la sélection feront l’objet d’une procédure de vérification des références afin de s’assurer de l’exactitude des informations fournies dans la candidature.

Les appels à candidature publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à minuit (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2020 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: 2016 - LCE Spanish Translators, P-2/P-3
Job Code Title: TRANSLATOR, SPANISH
Department/Office: DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL ASSEMBLY AND CONFERENCE MANAGEMENT
Duty Station: VIENNA; SANTIAGO; NAIROBI; NEW YORK; GENEVA;
Posting Period: 14 March 2016 - 14 April 2016
Job Opening Number: 16-Language-DGACM-57602-L- (L)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Special Notice

• The purpose of the present job opening is to invite applications from prospective applicants who wish to take the competitive examination for Spanish Translators. The first part of the examination is tentatively scheduled to take place on 28 June 2016 and will be carried out entirely online.

• All applications will be reviewed by the Board of Examiners. In instances where a large number of applications are received, the Board of Examiners reserves the right to admit to the examination only the most qualified applicants based on a review of qualifications over and above the minimum criteria. All applicants will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision in respect of their application. The Board’s decisions are final.

•On the basis of the overall results of the examination, the Board will recommend to the Assistant Secretary-General for Human Resources Management the names of candidates who qualify for inclusion in a roster of successful examinees. All examinees will be informed in writing of the Board's final recommendation in respect of their candidature. The Board's recommendations are final and not subject to appeal. The Board does not release individual scores or results.

• From the roster established as a result of the competitive examination, present and future vacancies for Spanish-language Translators will be filled. When vacancies occur in the language services of the United Nations Secretariat in Geneva, Nairobi, New York, Santiago, and Vienna, successful candidates will be recruited from the roster to serve at one of these duty stations, subject to the requirements of the service in terms of expertise and language combinations. Successful examinees may thereafter be called upon to serve at another of these duty stations according to the needs of the Organisation. Successful examinees are expected to serve a minimum of five years in a language post. Successful candidates should note that, in accordance with the needs of the Service/Section, they may be called upon to work outside normal working hours, including weekends and holidays.

• Successful examinees selected from the roster to fill vacancies are normally offered an initial fixed-term appointment at the P-2 level for a trial period of two years. This level comprises 12 steps, each corresponding to an annual increment awarded if performance is satisfactory. Upon satisfactory completion of this trial period, they may be promoted to the P-3 level, which comprises 15 steps. Fully qualified translators with several years of internationally recognized professional language experience and demonstrated ability to perform high-quality work may be recruited at the P-3 level. After two years of satisfactory service on a fixed-term appointment, the candidate will be considered for a continuing appointment. Fixed-term appointments of translators whose performance proves unsatisfactory will not be extended after the trial period of two years.

• Successful candidates who receive an offer of appointment are strongly encouraged to accept it, as declining may affect their prospects of receiving a subsequent offer. A successful candidate who declines two offers will be removed from the roster.

• Incomplete applications, including those that do not contain the required essay IN SPANISH mentioned in "Assessment Method” or evidence of language skills, and those that are received after the above deadline, will not be considered. No extensions for submission will be given if applications cannot be sent by the deadline set in Inspira. (New York HQ local time).

Special notice to staff members of the United Nations

•The Competitive Examination for Spanish Translators in 2016 is open to internal applicants at the P-3 level and below who meet the eligibility requirements, as well as qualified external candidates, in accordance with the provisions of ST/AI/1998/7 and ST/AI/2000/1, as amended by ST/AI/1998/7/Amend.1 and ST/AI/2003/1.

•The assignment of staff members of the United Nations who are successful in the examination and are selected to fill vacancies will be subject to the following conditions:

1. Staff members selected to fill vacancies will be assigned as Spanish-language Translator for a trial period of two years according to the staff rules in force. Staff members below the P 2 level or in the General Service category will receive a special post allowance to the P- 2 level. Staff members at the P-2 and P-3 levels will be assigned at their respective levels.

2. Staff members with a special post allowance to the P-2 level and those already at the P-2 level who successfully complete the trial period and are recommended by the Department for General Assembly and Conference Management and the Office of Human Resources Management may be promoted to the P-3 level. Staff members already at the P-3 level who successfully complete the trial period will be confirmed in their functions at the P-3 level. After two years of satisfactory service on a fixed-term appointment, the candidate will be considered for a continuing appointment. This means that the candidate will have to demonstrate within that time that he or she possesses the requisite qualifications to serve as a career staff member of the United Nations in order to receive such an appointment. Staff members who do not successfully complete the trial period will be reassigned to posts at their previous levels, and the special post allowance, if any, will be discontinued.

•Staff members from subsidiary organs of the United Nations and staff members whose service is limited to a particular organ, fund or programme of the United Nations or special missions are considered external candidates for the purpose of this examination. Such candidates, if successful in the examination, will be offered a new appointment with the United Nations, subject to normal United Nations recruitment procedures and standards.

Org. Setting and Reporting

The Spanish Translator positions are located in the Department for General Assembly and Conference Management (DGACM) at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, and in the Geneva, Vienna and Nairobi offices of the United Nations, as well as in the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) in Santiago, Chile. These positions are under the general supervision of the Chief of the Spanish Translation Service at Headquarters or the relevant Chiefs of Section/Unit in Offices away from Headquarters.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Translator is responsible for the following duties: (These duties are generic and may not be carried out by all Translators.)
• Translation: Translates, subject to revision, documents, including summary records, covering a broad range of subjects dealt with by the United Nations, i.e., in the political, social, legal, economic, financial, administrative, scientific and technical fields;
• Other related duties as required.

Competencies

• Professionalism: Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations. Takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work.

• Teamwork: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others' ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

• Commitment to Continuous Learning: Keeps abreast of new developments in own occupation/profession; actively seeks to develop oneself professionally and personally; contributes to the learning of colleagues and subordinates; shows willingness to learn from others; seeks feedback to learn and improve.

• Technological Awareness: Keeps abreast of available technology; understands applicability and limitation of technology to the work of the office; actively seeks to apply technology to appropriate tasks; shows willingness to learn new technology.

Education

a) Hold at least a first level university degree or its equivalent after at least 3 years of studies from a recognized school of translation, philology, or linguistics in which Spanish is the language of instruction (during the written part of the examination, these candidates will have to translate several English texts only); or

b) Hold at least a first level university degree or its equivalent after at least 3 years of studies in any other field from a university or institution of equivalent status in which Spanish is the language of instruction (during the written part of the examination, these candidates will have to translate English texts and a text in Arabic, Chinese, French, or Russian).

The requirement for a university degree or its equivalent from a university or institution of equivalent status mentioned above may be waived for staff members who, in the judgment of the Board of Examiners, have adequate post-secondary educational qualifications from a university or institution of equivalent status and adequate secondary educational qualifications from an establishment at which the principal language of instruction is Spanish, in addition to five years of continuous service with the United Nations Secretariat by 31 December 1989.

Work Experience

No work experience is required.

Languages

• Examinees must have a perfect command of Spanish, which should be their main language (the main language should be understood to be the language in which the candidate is best able to work and of which he/she has a perfect command).

• Have an excellent knowledge of English.

• Candidates who hold at least a first level university degree or its equivalent in any field other than translation, philology or linguistics from a university or institution of equivalent status in which Spanish is the language of instruction must have an excellent knowledge of at least one of the other official languages of the United Nations (Arabic, Chinese, French, or Russian).

•Applicants' claim to knowledge of official languages must be supported by relevant documentation attached to their application. Further evidence of degrees, knowledge of languages and/or relevant experience may be required prior to convocation.

Assessment

• When filling out their applications, applicants should write within Inspira a cover letter of approximately 300 words IN SPANISH, explaining why she or he wishes to work as a translator in the United Nations.

• Applications will be assessed and screened on the basis of the eligibility criteria listed above, and only those applicants deemed qualified will be convoked for the written examination. Only those examinees that are successful in the written portion of the examination will be invited to the oral examination.

•The written examination is tentatively scheduled to take place on 28 June 2016. It will be carried out entirely online, using a dedicated platform, and will consist of the following 2 options, to be chosen by candidates during the application process, based on their educational background.

Option A

For candidates with a translation, philology, or linguistics degree:
1. Multiple choice exercise: selecting the best Spanish translation of English sentences (45 minutes)
2. Translation into Spanish of a general text in English (90 minutes)

It should be noted that Sections 1 and 2 are eliminatory: Sections 3 and 4 will only be graded for those examinees who are successful in Sections 1 and 2.

3. Translation into Spanish of one English text, to be chosen by the examinee from a total of four specialized texts (economic, legal, social/political or scientific/technical) (90 minutes)

4. Translation into Spanish of one English text, to be chosen by the examinee from a total of four specialized texts (economic, legal, social/political or scientific/technical) (90 minutes). The specialized field selected must be different from the one chosen in exercise 3.

Option B

For candidates without a translation, philology, or linguistics degree:

1. Multiple choice exercise: selecting the best Spanish translation of English sentences (45 minutes)
2. Translation into Spanish of a general text in English (90 minutes)

It should be noted that Sections 1 and 2 are eliminatory: Sections 3 and 4 will only be graded for those examinees who are successful in Sections 1 and 2.

3. Translation into Spanish of one English text, to be chosen by the examinee from a total of four specialized texts (economic, legal, social/political or scientific/technical) (90 minutes).

4. Translation into Spanish of one text chosen by the examinee from a total of four texts, one in each of the following official United Nations languages: Arabic, Chinese, French or Russian (90 minutes)

Examinees who have both a translation, philology, or linguistics degree and (a) degree(s) in (an)other field(s) will have to choose between options A and B during the application process.

•The use of a dictionary or any other reference material will be permitted during the examination

•On the basis of the results of the written examination, the Board of Examiners will invite selected examinees to a competency-based interview. The Board will interview each examinee to assess whether she or he possesses the competencies required for the position. Examinees may also be required to undergo additional testing at the time of the interview (including a proctored translation test, a revision exercise and/or a post-editing exercise). They should be aware that at this stage they will be required to translate without resorting to any resources. The interview is an integral part of the examination. Therefore, examinees who are invited for an interview should not assume that they will be automatically placed on a roster or offered an assignment.

United Nations Considerations

Candidates will be required to meet the requirements of Article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter as well as the requirements of the position. The United Nations is committed to the highest standards of efficiency, competence and integrity for all its human resources, including but not limited to respect for international human rights and humanitarian law. Candidates may be subject to screening against these standards, including but not limited to whether they have committed, or are alleged to have committed criminal offences and/or violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law.

The United Nations shall place no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. (Charter of the United Nations - Chapter 3, article 8). The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the At-a-Glance on "The Application Process" and the Instructional Manual for the Applicants, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of inspira account-holder homepage.

Applications are pre-screened by the system according to the published requirements of the job opening on the basis of the information provided in the application. In relation to the requirements of the job opening, applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their qualifications, including their education, work experience, and language skills. Each applicant must bear in mind that submission of incomplete or inaccurate applications may render that applicant ineligible for consideration for the job opening. Initial screening and evaluation of applications will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted. Applications cannot be amended following submission. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to a reference-checking process to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at midnight (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2016 United Nations. All rights reserved