vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Spécialiste hors classe des questions politiques [Filled from Roster]
Intitulé code d’emploi: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER
Département / Bureau: UNITED NATIONS ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMME
Lieu d'affectation: NAIROBI
Période de candidature: 26 juillet 2016 - 23 septembre 2016
No de l’appel á candidature: 16-Political Affairs-UNEP-63444-R-Nairobi (X)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Notice spéciale

Ce poste est à pourvoir pour une durée initiale d’un an renouvelable. Les fonctionnaires sont soumis à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui décide de leur affectation. Au fil de leur carrière, ils sont censés changer de fonctions périodiquement, conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur. Il est vivement recommandé à tous les candidats de postuler en ligne aussitôt que possible après la publication de l’avis de vacance de poste et, quoiqu’il en soit, bien avant la date limite indiquée. Un accusé de réception sera envoyé à tous les candidats qui auront donné leur adresse électronique. Si, dans les 24 heures suivant le dépôt de votre candidature, vous n’avez pas reçu de message électronique en accusant réception, il se peut que votre dossier n’ait pas été bien reçu. Au besoin, veuillez renvoyer votre candidature. Si le problème persiste, veuillez demander une assistance technique en cliquant sur le lien « Besoin d’aide ? » dans Inspira.

Cadre organisationnel

Le Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement (PNUE) est l’autorité mondiale de premier plan en matière d’environnement, chargée de définir le programme mondial pour l’environnement, de promouvoir la mise en œuvre cohérente du volet environnement du développement durable au sein du système des Nations Unies et ayant autorité pour défendre la cause de l’environnement mondial. Le poste est à pourvoir au Bureau exécutif du PNUE, à Nairobi. Sous la supervision directe du Directeur exécutif, le titulaire s’acquitte des fonctions ci-après:

Responsabilités

• Formuler des stratégies dans le domaine des affaires politiques; définir une vision ou une orientation stratégique; proposer des directives de politique générale et des plans d’action permettant de régler immédiatement ou à longue échéance des problèmes politiques en général et dans des zones géographiques données; repérer les nouveaux problèmes afférents aux mandats du groupe; analyser les répercussions et faire des recommandations sur les stratégies et mesures pouvant être adoptées.

•Planifier et exécuter les activités opérationnelles liées aux travaux de la Division et du Département, notamment dans les domaines du maintien de la paix, du désarmement, de la démobilisation et réintégration, de la prévention et du règlement des conflits, de la réinsertion au lendemain des conflits, de l’administration des élections, de la consolidation des institutions politiques et des mécanismes de gouvernance et de l’appui à la société civile; adopter une approche intégrée qui permet d’intégrer les questions que sont les droits, la prévention des conflits et la problématique hommes-femmes dans les grandes orientations, la planification et les activités opérationnelles du groupe.

•Planifier, coordonner et gérer les programmes, projets et activités nécessitant une participation interdépartementale ou interorganisations.

•Établir des notes d’information et des points de discussion à l’intention du Secrétaire général, des conseillers principaux, du Secrétaire général adjoint et du Sous-Secrétaire général.

•Concevoir des activités de maintien de la paix; donner des conseils concernant les négociations visant à établir des opérations et participer aux négociations, et mettre au point des lignes directrices, des mandats et des plans opérationnels ainsi que des calendriers pour les nouvelles opérations.

•Coordonner et encadrer la prestation de services de secrétariat à l’Assemblée générale, le Conseil économique et social et le Conseil de sécurité et leurs organes subsidiaires, et à l’occasion de conférences et sommets extraordinaires.

•Fournir constamment des orientations et des conseils aux présidents et autres membres élus du bureau des organes intergouvernementaux concernant l’organisation des travaux, le stade des négociations et la conduite des débats, y compris l’interprétation du règlement intérieur.
•Diriger une équipe; planifier et attribuer les affectations; encadrer et évaluer le personnel; participer au recrutement et à la sélection de nouveaux fonctionnaires et à l’élaboration de programmes de formation.

•Faire office de coordonnateur pour des missions complexes de coordination et d’appui.

•Gérer, coordonner, organiser et superviser la recherche sur un éventail de questions politiques dans une région ou un pays ou dans une zone connaissant un conflit d’envergure.

•Représenter la Division, le service ou la mission à l’occasion de tables rondes, séminaires et conférences.

•Répondre et préparer des réponses aux observations, déclarations et demandes de parties intéressées et gérer les activités mettant en jeu plusieurs composantes, y compris des opérations civiles, militaires et humanitaires.

•Formuler le programme de travail, le budget et le plan à moyen terme du groupe et participer au processus d’approbation générale du programme de travail et des questions administratives afférentes à la Section, la Division ou la mission; coordonner et superviser le travail des collègues et du groupe.

•Établir et entretenir des relations avec de hauts responsables politiques et les conseiller pour ce qui est des questions et politiques présentant un intérêt commun.

•S’acquitter de toutes autres tâches qui pourraient lui être confiées.

Compétences

Professionnalisme : connaître l’action des organismes intergouvernementaux, de l’Organisation des Nations Unies et de ses organes dans les domaines politique, économique, social et autres; évaluer les situations politiques internationales dans le domaine assigné; gérer et coordonner de nombreux niveaux et participants différents dans les opérations menées tant sur le terrain qu’au sein du système des Nations Unies; tirer fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations; faire preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet; apporter à l’exécution de ses tâches la conscience et le souci d’efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d’honorer les engagements contractés, de tenir les délais impartis et d’obtenir les résultats escomptés; agir pour des motifs professionnels plutôt que personnels; persévérer face aux obstacles et aux difficultés; garder son calme dans les situations de crise.

Esprit d’équipe : collaborer avec ses collègues afin d’atteindre les objectifs de l’organisation; solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun et être prêt à apprendre de lui; faire passer l’intérêt de l’équipe avant son avantage personnel; accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s’y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre; partager les réussites de l’équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs.

Aptitude à planifier et à organiser : définir clairement des buts compatibles avec les stratégies convenues; hiérarchiser les activités et tâches prioritaires; modifier les priorités en fonction des besoins; prévoir suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien; tenir compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification; suivre l’exécution des plans et les modifier s’il y a lieu; tirer le meilleur parti du temps dont on dispose.

Souci du client : considérer tous ceux auxquels est assurée la prestation de services comme des « clients » et chercher à voir les choses de leur point de vue; établir et maintenir des partenariats productifs avec les clients en gagnant leur confiance et leur respect; discerner les besoins des clients et trouver les moyens d’y répondre; suivre l’évolution de la situation des clients, sur les plans tant intérieur qu’extérieur, afin de pouvoir devancer les problèmes; tenir les clients informés de l’avancement des projets; tenir les délais pour la livraison des produits ou la prestation des services.

Qualités de chef : servir de modèle à son entourage; armer chacun des membres de son équipe des atouts nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs visés; s’employer avec dynamisme à mettre au point les stratégies opérationnelles requises; établir et entretenir des relations très diverses afin de comprendre les besoins et de s’assurer des appuis; prévoir les conflits et s’efforcer de les résoudre à l’amiable; s’investir dans le changement et le progrès; ne pas se cantonner dans le statu quo; avoir le courage de prendre des positions impopulaires; prendre la responsabilité de transversaliser la problématique hommes-femmes et d’assurer l’égale participation des femmes et des hommes dans toutes les activités; faire la preuve d’une bonne connaissance des stratégies visant à équilibrer les effectifs masculins et féminins et manifester la volonté d’atteindre cet objectif.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau du master en sciences politiques, relations internationales, économie internationale, droit, administration publique ou dans une discipline apparentée. À défaut, diplôme universitaire de premier cycle assorti de deux années supplémentaires d’expérience pertinente.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins dix ans d’expérience, à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés, dans le domaine des sciences politiques, des relations internationales, du droit, du désarmement, de la sécurité, de la gestion du développement, du règlement de conflits ou dans un domaine apparenté.

Connaissances linguistiques

L’anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du Secrétariat de l’ONU. Pour le poste faisant l’objet du présent avis, la parfaite maîtrise de l’anglais, écrit et oral, est indispensable. La connaissance d’une autre langue officielle de l’ONU est un atout.

Méthode d'évaluation

Les candidats qualifiés pourront être invités à participer à une évaluation puis, éventuellement, à un entretien axé sur les compétences.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. (Charte des Nations Unies - Chapitre III, Article 8). Le Secrétariat des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Aucun frais de dossier

L'ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: Senior Political Affairs Officer [Filled from Roster]
Job Code Title: SENIOR POLITICAL AFFAIRS OFFICER
Department/Office: UNITED NATIONS ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMME
Duty Station: NAIROBI
Posting Period: 26 July 2016 - 23 September 2016
Job Opening Number: 16-Political Affairs-UNEP-63444-R-Nairobi (X)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Special Notice

Appointment against this post is for an initial period of one year and may be subject to extension. Staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and to assignment by him or her. In this context, all staff are expected to move periodically to new functions in their careers in accordance with established rules and procedures. All applicants are strongly encouraged to apply on-line as soon as possible after the job opening has been posted and well before the deadline stated in the job opening. On-line applications will be acknowledged where an e-mail address has been provided. If you do not receive an e-mail acknowledgement within 24 hours of submission, your application may not have been received. If the problem persists, please seek technical assistance through the Inspira "Need Help?" link.

Org. Setting and Reporting

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment. This post is located in UNEP/Executive Office at the Nairobi duty station. Under the direct supervision of the Executive Director, the incumbent will perform the following duties:

Responsibilities

• Formulates political affairs strategies; develops a vision or direction for work; proposes policy directives and plan of action for immediate and long range solutions to political problems in general and in specific geographical areas; identifies emerging issues pertaining to the mandates of the unit; analyses implications and makes recommendations on possible strategies and measures.
• Plans and implements the operational activities related to the work of the division/department, i.e., peacekeeping, disarmament, demobilization and reintegration, conflict prevention and resolution, post-conflict rehabilitation, election administration, political and governance institution-building, civil society support work, etc.; incorporates an integrated approach that includes a rights-based dimension, conflict prevention sensitivity, and a gender perspective into the policy, planning and operational activities of the unit.
• Plans, coordinates and manages programmes, projects and activities requiring interdepartmental and/or interagency involvement and participation.
• Prepares briefing notes and talking points for the Secretary-General, Senior Advisers, Under-Secretary-General/Assistant Secretary-General.
• Designs peacekeeping initiatives; advises on and participates in the negotiation to establish operations and develops guidelines, terms of reference and operational plans and time frames for new operations.
• Coordinates and directs the provision of secretariat services secretariat services -for the General Assembly, ECOSOC and the Security Council and their subsidiary bodies, and special conferences and summits.
• Provides continuous guidance and advice to the Presidents and Chairs as well as other elected offices of intergovernmental bodies concerning the organization of work, status of negotiations, conduct of business including interpretation of the rules of procedure.
• Leads and directs a work team; plans and allocates work assignments; coaches, mentors, and evaluates staff; participates in recruitment and selection of new staff and in the development of training programs.
• Acts as coordinator for complex coordination and support missions.
• Manages, coordinates, organizes and supervises research on a variety of political issues in a region and or country or major conflict.
• Represents division/office/mission at round tables, seminars and conferences.
• Responds to/prepares responses to comments, statements, queries of parties and manages operations involving several components, including civilian, military and humanitarian operations.
• Formulates the programme of work, budget and medium-term plan of the unit and participates in the overall approval of the programme of work, and administrative matters concerning the Section/Division or mission; coordinates and oversees work of colleagues and unit.
• Develops and maintains relations with senior government officials and advises them on issues and policies of mutual concern.
• Performs other related duties as required.

Competencies

• PROFESSIONALISM: Knowledge of the work of intergovernmental bodies, the work of the United Nations and its related bodies concerned with political, economic, social and related matters. Ability to evaluate international political situations in area of assignment. Ability to manage and coordinate many different levels and participants in operations in both the field and UN common system. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations.

• TEAMWORK: Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals; solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others; places team agenda before personal agenda; supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position; shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings.

• PLANNING & ORGANIZING: Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.

• CLIENT ORIENTATION: Considers all those to whom services are provided to be “clients” and seeks to see things from clients’ point of view; establishes and maintains productive partnerships with clients by gaining their trust and respect; identifies clients’ needs and matches them to appropriate solutions; monitors ongoing developments inside and outside the clients’ environment to keep informed and anticipate problems; keeps clients informed of progress or setbacks in projects; meets timeline for delivery of products or services to client.

• LEADERSHIP: Serves as a role model that other people want to follow: empowers others to translate vision into results; is proactive in developing strategies to accomplish objectives; establishes and maintains relationships with a broad range of people to understand needs and gain support; anticipates and resolves conflicts by pursuing mutually agreeable solutions; drives for change and improvements; does not accept the status quo; shows the courage to take unpopular stands. Provides leadership and takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work; demonstrates knowledge of strategies and commitment to the goal of gender balance in staffing.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent) degree in political science, international relations, international economics, law, public administration, or related field. A first-level university degree in combination with two years of qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree.

Work Experience

A minimum of ten years of progressively responsible experience in political science, international relations, law, disarmament, security, development management, conflict resolution or related area.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For the post advertised, fluency in oral and written English is required. Knowledge of another UN official
language is an advantage.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity, including but not limited to, respect for international human rights and humanitarian law. Candidates may be subject to screening against these standards, including but not limited to, whether they have committed or are alleged to have committed criminal offences or violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the At-a-Glance on "The Application Process" and the Instructional Manual for the Applicants, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The screening and evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications, including but not limited to, their education, work experience, and language skills, according to the instructions provided on inspira. Applicants will be disqualified from consideration if they do not demonstrate in their application that they meet the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations. Applicants are solely responsible for providing complete and accurate information at the time of application: no amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to a reference-checking process to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at midnight (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved