vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: ECONOMIC AFFAIRS OFFICER, P4
Intitulé code d’emploi: ECONOMIC AFFAIRS OFFICER
Département / Bureau: Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Lieu d'affectation: PORT OF SPAIN
Période de candidature: 10 juillet 2017 - 23 août 2017
No de l’appel á candidature: 17-Economic Affairs-ECLAC-82099-R-Port of Spain (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Notice spéciale

Les fonctionnaires sont soumis à l’autorité du Secrétaire général, qui décide de leur affectation. Au fil de leur carrière, ils sont censés changer de fonctions périodiquement, conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur.

Cadre organisationnel

Le poste à pourvoir relève de l'unité du développement économique (EDU) du Bureau sous-régional de la CEPALC pour les Caraïbes, à Port-of-Spain, Trinité-et-Tobago et dessert 26 pays et territoires des Caraïbes. L´Économiste fait rapport au Coordinateur de l’EDU.

La Commission économique pour l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes est l’une des cinq commissions régionales des Nations Unies. Elle a été créée en 1948 dans le but de contribuer au développement économique et social de la région. Elle a notamment pour mandat la conception, le suivi et l'évaluation des politiques publiques et la prestation aux gouvernements de services consultatifs, d’experts et de formation, ainsi que le soutien à la coopération régionale et internationale et aux activités de coordination. La CEPALC emploie plus de 600 personnes à son siège de Santiago du Chili, à ses bureaux sous-régionaux de Mexico et Port-of-Spain et à ses bureaux nationaux de Buenos Aires, Brasilia, Montevideo et Bogota, ainsi qu’au bureau de liaison de Washington D.C. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter notre site web : www.eclac.org.

Responsabilités

Sous la supervision générale du Directeur et la supervision directe du Coordinateur de l’EDU, le/la titulaire effectuera les tâches suivantes :

Analyse économique ou sectorielle:
•Suivre de près les tendances en matière de finances publiques, de dettes, de politiques fiscales et monétaires et de développement économique régional, détecter les problèmes émergents et récurrents pouvant s'avérer préoccupants pour les petites économies en développement, et élaborer des recommandations de politique.
•Surveiller les résultats macro-économiques et fournir des analyses ainsi que des propositions de changements structurels pour les petites économies en développement.
•Concevoir, diriger et rédiger des rapports sur les études relatives à certains problèmes propres aux petits états en matière de développement économique.
•Interpréter et appliquer les résultats de la modélisation économétrique à l’analyse des perspectives et des politiques économiques.
•Entreprendre des recherches et des analyses approfondies sur les problèmes de développement actuels et émergents
•Organiser des réunions et des séminaires de groupes d’experts sur des questions de développement.
•Préparer et effectuer des présentations lors de conférences, d’exposés et d’autres instances.
•Préparer des discours et tout autre matériel nécessaire aux présentations de fonctionnaires de rang supérieur.

Soutien intergouvernemental
•Fournir un soutien technique portant sur des questions économiques aux organes intergouvernementaux, tels que le Comité de développement et de coopération des Caraïbes (CDCC), la Table ronde sur le développement des Caraïbes (CDR) et la session de la CEPALC.
•Représenter la CEPALC aux réunions nationales, régionales et internationales.
•Contribuer de façon substantielle à la préparation des publications phares de la CEPALC et appuyer les demandes de contributions sur les Caraïbes provenant d’autres bureaux de la CEPALC.

Coopération technique:
•Concevoir et superviser des projets de coopération technique.
•Effectuer des missions auprès des états membres, soit à titre individuel, soit au sein d’une équipe multidisciplinaire, dans le cadre des activités de coopération technique de l’Organisation.
•Préparer des analyses à l'échelon mondial, régional, national ou sectoriel pouvant servir de base aux conseils fournis aux gouvernements nationaux sur les problèmes de développement économique.
•Diriger des séminaires et des ateliers de formation à l’intention des fonctionnaires gouvernementaux et autres.
•Contribuer à l’élaboration de processus d’évaluation des projets de coopération technique.

Général
•Encadrer le personnel auxiliaire, réviser leur travail et leur assurer une remontée d’information.
•Aider à la supervision rédactionnelle générale des prestations du bureau résultant du programme de travail officiel.
•S’acquitter d’autres tâches selon que de besoin, notamment différentes fonctions administratives nécessaires à la prestation finale du programme de travail du bureau.
•Entreprendre des activités de formation en cours de service et autres, sur place et à l’extérieur.

Compétences

Professionnalisme: Aptitude à appliquer des théories et des concepts économiques dans différents secteurs du développement économique et durable. Capacité de mener des recherches indépendantes sur des sujets économiques, et d'établir la pertinence, la validité et la précision des données fournies par différentes sources. Compétences analytiques dans le domaine économique. Une maîtrise des logiciels associés à l’analyse quantitative, l'économétrie et des logiciels statistiques/économétriques est souhaitable en vue de l’analyse systématique des données, en particulier les méthodes d’inférence statistique.

Faire preuve de fierté pour le travail et les réalisations afficher une compétence professionnelle et une maîtrise du sujet abordé; être consciencieux(se) et efficace pour honorer les engagements, en respectant les délais et obtenant des résultats; être motivé(e) par des intérêts professionnels plutôt que personnels; faire preuve de persistance face aux difficultés et aux défis; conserver son sang-froid dans les situations stressantes. Capacité de prendre la responsabilité de faire place aux impératifs de parité des sexes et d'assurer l'égale participation des hommes et des femmes dans tous les domaines de compétence.

Esprit d’équipe:
-Collaborer avec ses collègues afin d’atteindre les objectifs de l’Organisation
-Solliciter les apports, apprécier à leur juste valeur les idées et la compétence de chacun et être prêt à apprendre de lui
-Faire passer l’intérêt de l’équipe avant son avantage personnel
-Accepter les décisions finales du groupe et s’y plier, même si elles ne cadrent pas parfaitement avec sa position propre
-Partager les réussites de l’équipe et assumer sa part de responsabilité dans ses échecs

Aptitude à planifier et à organiser:
-Définir clairement des buts compatibles avec les stratégies convenues
-Hiérarchiser les activités et tâches prioritaires; modifier les priorités en fonction des besoins
-Prévoir suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien
-Tenir compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification
-Suivre l’exécution des plans et les modifier s’il y a lieu
-Tirer le meilleur parti du temps dont on dispose

Compétences en matière d’encadrement:
Qualités de chef:
-Servir de modèle à son entourage
-Armer chacun des membres de son équipe des atouts nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs visés
-S’employer avec dynamisme à mettre au point les stratégies opérationnelles requises
-Etablir et entretenir des relations très diverses afin de comprendre les besoins et de s’assurer des appuis
-Prévoir les conflits et s’efforcer de les résoudre à l’amiable
-S’investir dans le changement et le progrès; ne pas se cantonner dans le statu quo
-Avoir le courage de prendre des positions impopulaires

Formation

Diplôme universitaire de troisième cycle (maîtrise ou son équivalent) en économie ou dans un domaine afférent. Défaut, un diplôme du niveau de la licence assorti de l’expérience professionnelle voulue peut être accepté.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins sept années d’expérience à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés sont requises dans la recherche et l’analyse économiques, la formulation de politiques, l’application de principes économiques dans les programmes de développement ou un domaine afférent. Une expérience de la modélisation économétrique, des finances publiques et des politiques fiscales et monétaires dans les Caraïbes est souhaitable. Il est souhaitable de faire la preuve de cette expérience en matière de recherche et d’articles sur des questions du développement dans les Caraïbes à l’aide de publications.

Connaissances linguistiques

Les langues de travail du Secrétariat des Nations Unies sont l'anglais et le français. Pour ce poste, la maîtrise de l'anglais, à l'oral et à l'écrit, est indispensable et sera éventuellement corroborée par les examens pertinents. Une connaissance de base de l'espagnol est souhaitable. La connaissance du français serait un atout.

Méthode d'évaluation

Les candidats retenus seront convoqués à un entretien axé sur l’appréciation des compétences et soumis à d’autres méthodes d’évaluation.

Charte des Nations Unies

En vertu du paragraphe 3 de l'Article 101 de la Charte des Nations Unies, la considération dominante dans le recrutement du personnel doit être la nécessité d'assurer à l'Organisation les services de personnes possédant les plus hautes qualités de travail, de compétence et d'intégrité, notamment mais non exclusivement s’agissant du respect du droit international des droits de l’homme et du droit international humanitaire. Les candidats pourront faire l’objet d’une présélection sur la base de ces critères, notamment mais non exclusivement dans le but de vérifier s’ils ont commis ou sont soupçonnés d’avoir commis des infractions pénales ou des violations du droit international des droits de l’homme ou du droit international humanitaire.

Sera dûment prise en considération l'importance d'un recrutement effectué sur une base géographique aussi large que possible. Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. Le Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Les candidats sont invités à respecter scrupuleusement toutes les instructions disponibles sur la plateforme de recrutement en ligne Inspira. Pour des informations plus détaillées, ils peuvent consulter le Guide rapide « Procédure de dépôt de candidature » et le manuel d'instructions pour le candidat (en anglais seulement), en cliquant sur le lien hypertexte « Manuels » sur le côté supérieur droit de la page d'accueil de leur compte Inspira.

Les candidatures feront l'objet d'une évaluation et d'un examen préalables sur la base des informations soumises conformément aux critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation des Nations Unies, notamment la Charte des Nations Unies, les résolutions de l'Assemblée générale, le Statut et le Règlement du personnel, les textes administratives et les directives. Les candidats doivent fournir des informations exhaustives et précises relatives à leur qualification, notamment mais non exclusivement, à leur formation, leur expérience professionnelle et leurs compétences linguistiques, conformément aux instructions fournies sur la plateforme Inspira. Les candidats seront exclus de la procédure d'examen s'il n'est pas démontré dans leur candidature qu'ils répondent à tous les critères d'évaluation de l'avis de vacance de poste et aux dispositions législatives internes applicables de l'Organisation. Ils sont tenus de fournir des informations complètes et précises. Une fois la candidature envoyée, aucune modification, suppression ou révision, ni aucun ajout ou changement ne pourra être fait. Il sera procédé à une vérification des références des candidats faisant l'objet d'une attention particulière pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis dans leur candidature.

Les avis de vacance de postes publiés sur le Portail des carrières sont retirés à minuit (heure de New York), le jour de la date limite de dépôt des candidatures.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2022 United Nations. All rights reserved

The new YPP Polnet test will be administered on 8 February 2018

Job Opening

Posting Title: ECONOMIC AFFAIRS OFFICER, P4
Job Code Title: ECONOMIC AFFAIRS OFFICER
Department/Office: Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Duty Station: PORT OF SPAIN
Posting Period: 10 July 2017 - 23 August 2017
Job Opening Number: 17-Economic Affairs-ECLAC-82099-R-Port of Spain (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Special Notice

Staff members are subject to the authority of the Secretary-General and to assignment by him or her. In this context, all staff are expected to move periodically to new functions in their careers in accordance with established rules and procedures.

Org. Setting and Reporting

This position is located in the Economic Development Unit (EDU) at the ECLAC Subregional Headquarters for the Caribbean, located in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, which serves 26 countries and territories of the Caribbean. The Economic Affairs Officer reports to Coordinator of the EDU.

The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded in 1948 with the purpose of contributing to the region's economic and social development. Its mission includes the design, monitoring and evaluation of public policies and the provision of advisory services, expertise and training to Governments, as well as support for regional and international cooperation and coordination activities. ECLAC employs over 600 staff members at its Headquarters in Santiago, its Subregional Headquarters in Mexico City and Port-of- Spain, and country offices in Buenos Aires, Brasilia, Montevideo and Bogotá, as well as a liaison office in Washington, D.C. Please visit our website at www.eclac.org, for further information.

Responsibilities

Under the overall supervision of the Director and direct supervision of the Coordinator of the EDU, the incumbent will carry out the following duties:

Economic or sector analysis:
•Monitors developments in the areas of public finance, debt, fiscal and monetary policy and regional economic development, including emerging issues of concern to small developing economies and drafts policy recommendations.
•Monitors macro-economic performance and provides analyses and proposals for structural transformation of small developing economies.
•Designs, conducts and drafts reports on studies of selected issues in economic development.
•Interprets and applies results of econometric modelling to analysis of economic prospects and policies.
•Undertakes in depth research and analysis on current and emerging development issues.
•Organizes expert group meetings and seminars on development issues.
•Prepares and makes presentations at conferences, lectures and other forums
•Prepares speeches and other inputs for presentations by senior staff.

Intergovernmental support
•Provides substantive support on economic issues to intergovernmental bodies, such as the Caribbean Development and Cooperation Committee (CDCC), Caribbean Development Roundtable (CDR) and ECLAC Session.
•Represents ECLAC at international, regional and national meetings.
•Contributes substantively to the preparation of ECLAC flagship publications and supports requests for contributions on the Caribbean from other ECLAC Offices.

Technical cooperation:
•Designs and monitors technical cooperation projects.
•Undertakes missions to member states, either alone or as a participant in a multidisciplinary team, as part of the Organization’s technical cooperation activities.
•Prepares global, regional, national or sector analyses that provide a basis for advising national governments on economic development issues.
•Conducts training seminars and workshops for government officials and others.
•Assists in designing evaluation processes for technical cooperation projects.

General
•Supports junior staff, reviewing their work and providing feedback.
•Assists in providing general editorial oversight for official work programme outputs of the office.
•Performs other related duties as required, including a variety of administrative tasks necessary for the final delivery of the work programme of the office.
•Undertakes on the job and other training activities, both internally and externally.

Competencies

Professionalism:
Ability to apply economic theories and concepts in different sectors of economic and sustainable development is required. Ability to conduct independent research on economic topics, determine suitability, validity and accuracy of data provided by different sources is required. Proven analytical skills in economic issues are required. Demonstrated rigour in quantitative analysis, econometrics and statistics/econometric packages for the systematic analysis of data including methods of statistical inference is required.

Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations. Takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work.

Teamwork:
-Works collaboratively with colleagues to achieve organizational goals
-Solicits input by genuinely valuing others’ ideas and expertise; is willing to learn from others
-Places team agenda before personal agenda
-Supports and acts in accordance with final group decision, even when such decisions may not entirely reflect own position
-Shares credit for team accomplishments and accepts joint responsibility for team shortcomings

Planning & Organizing:
-Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies
-Identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required
-Allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work
-Foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning
-Monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary
-Uses time efficiently

Managerial Competencies:
Leadership:
-Serves as a role model that other people want to follow
-Empowers others to translate vision into results
-Is proactive in developing strategies to accomplish objectives
-Establishes and maintains relationships with a broad range of people to understand needs and gain support
-Anticipates and resolves conflicts by pursuing mutually agreeable solutions
-Drives for change and improvement; does not accept the status quo
-Shows the courage to take unpopular stands.

Education

Advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent) in economics or related field is required. A first-level university degree in combination with qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree.

Work Experience

A minimum of seven years of progressively responsible experience in economic research and analysis, policy formulation and application of economic principles in development programmes or related area is required. Experience in econometric modelling, public finance and fiscal and monetary policy in the Caribbean is desirable. Experience in research and writing on development issues in the Caribbean, as evidenced by a record of publications, is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For this post, advanced knowledge of oral and written English is required, as verified through relevant exams, if necessary. Basic knowledge of Spanish is desirable. Knowledge of French would be an asset.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity, including but not limited to, respect for international human rights and humanitarian law. Candidates may be subject to screening against these standards, including but not limited to, whether they have committed or are alleged to have committed criminal offences or violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the At-a-Glance on "The Application Process" and the Instructional Manual for the Applicants, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The screening and evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications, including but not limited to, their education, work experience, and language skills, according to the instructions provided on inspira. Applicants will be disqualified from consideration if they do not demonstrate in their application that they meet the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations. Applicants are solely responsible for providing complete and accurate information at the time of application: no amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to a reference-checking process to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at midnight (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2017 United Nations. All rights reserved