vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Spécialiste hors classe des questions pénitentiaires, P5
Intitulé code d’emploi: SENIOR CORRECTIONS OFFICER
Département / Bureau: Field Missions
Lieu d'affectation: Field Locations
Période de candidature: 07 mars 2018 - 09 juin 2018
No de l’appel á candidature: 18-Rule of Law-FMADFS-94301-P- (M)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ces postes sont à pourvoir dans le cadre d’opérations de maintien de la paix ou de missions politiques spéciales ou d’autres opérations de terrain des Nations Unies. Leurs titulaires peuvent être appelés à exercer les fonctions de chef de la composante pénitentiaire. Ils relèvent généralement du Représentant spécial adjoint du Secrétaire général ou du Chef de la composante judiciaire et pénitentiaire de la mission, ou encore de tout autre haut responsable compétent, selon la structure de la mission. Les postes de spécialiste des questions pénitentiaires hors classe sont basés au siège de la mission de terrain des Nations Unies, normalement dans la capitale du pays où la mission est établie.

Responsabilités

Dans la limite des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués et sous la supervision du Représentant spécial adjoint du Secrétaire général, du Chef de la composante judiciaire et pénitentiaire de la mission, ou encore de tout autre haut responsable compétent, le titulaire s’acquitte des fonctions ci-après (il s’agit de fonctions générales qui peuvent varier en fonction du mandat et des besoins de la mission):

•Diriger et gérer l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des stratégies de la mission relatives à l’appui aux partenaires nationaux pour le renforcement et le développement de tous les aspects du système pénitentiaire, notamment en ce qui concerne: la mise en œuvre des normes internationales applicables; l’élaboration et la mise en place des processus de planification stratégiques; l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation de programmes de formation; l’examen et la mise au point des textes réglementaires pertinents; la remise en état des installations, la gestion des détenus et du personnel, la gestion des questions stratégiques et opérationnelles cruciales, particulièrement en matière de sécurité et de surpeuplement; et le développement de relations constructives avec la police et le système judiciaire.

•Établir et entretenir des contacts et des relations fructueuses avec des hauts fonctionnaires nationaux et des représentants de la société civile, y compris avec des homologues du Ministère de la justice ou d’autres ministères concernés, des fonctionnaires de la police, des tribunaux et de l’administration pénitentiaire et des représentants des organisations non gouvernementales, des universités et des écoles de droit, des médias, des missions diplomatiques et des donateurs.

•Établir des liens avec les partenaires de développement et les donateurs afin d’assurer, le cas échéant, une transition sans heurt vers un appui au développement à long terme, ainsi que vers la mobilisation de ressources.

•Établir des rapports d’évaluation, des documents de politique générale, des directives et rapports portant sur des questions stratégiques et opérationnelles complexes relatives au système pénitentiaire et donner des conseils à cet égard.

•Participer aux mécanismes de coordination à l’échelle de la mission, entretenir des relations professionnelles étroites avec les composantes pertinentes (droits de l’homme, police, justice, composante chargée de la problématique hommes-femmes, protection de l’enfant, etc.), ainsi qu’avec des organismes des Nations Unies, et représenter la mission selon que de besoin.

•Exécuter les tâches programmatiques, de direction, ou administratives nécessaires au bon fonctionnement de la composante pénitentiaire de la mission, notamment établir les budgets, rendre compte des performances et résultats, recruter le personnel, ainsi que gérer et évaluer le comportement professionnel de ce dernier.

•S’acquitter de toutes autres tâches que pourraient lui confier les responsables de la mission.

Compétences

• PROFESSIONALISME
Maîtrise avérée des questions relatives au système pénitentiaire et connaissance des normes internationales pertinentes relatives aux droits de l’homme, capacité d’adopter une approche stratégique aux fins de la mise en place d’un système pénitentiaire. Elle/il Tire fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations; fait preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet; apporte à l’exécution de ses tâches la conscience et le souci d’efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d’honorer les engagements contractés, de tenir les délais impartis et d’obtenir les résultats escomptés ; agit pour des motifs professionnels plutôt que personnels; persévère face aux obstacles et aux difficultés; garde son calme dans les situations de crise

• APTITUDE A LA COMMUNICATION
S’exprimer clairement et efficacement, tant oralement que par écrit; écouter les autres, bien les comprendre et donner suite comme il convient; poser les questions voulues afin d’obtenir des éclaircissements et faciliter le dialogue; adapter le langage, le ton, le style et la présentation au public auquel on s’adresse; partager l’information avec tous ceux qu’elle intéresse et tenir chacun au courant.

• APTITUDE A PLANIFIER ET A ORGANISER
Définir clairement des buts compatibles avec les stratégies convenues; hiérarchiser les activités et tâches prioritaires; modifier les priorités en fonction des besoins; prévoir suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien; tenir compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification; suivre l’exécution des plans et les modifier s’il y a lieu; tirer le meilleur parti du temps dont on dispose.

• QUALITES DE CHEF
Servir de modèle à son entourage; armer chacun des membres de son équipe des atouts nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs visés; s’employer avec dynamisme à mettre au point les stratégies opérationnelles requises; établir et entretenir des relations très diverses afin de comprendre les besoins et de s’assurer des appuis; prévoir les conflits et s’efforcer de les résoudre à l’amiable; s’investir dans le changement et le progrès; ne pas se cantonner dans le statu quo; avoir le courage de prendre des positions impopulaires. Montrer la voie à suivre et prendre la responsabilité de transversaliser la problématique hommes-femmes et d’assurer l’égale participation des hommes et des femmes dans toutes les activités; faire la preuve d’une bonne connaissance des stratégies visant à équilibrer les effectifs masculins et féminins et manifester la volonté d’atteindre cet objectif.

• SUIVI DU COMPORTEMENT PROFESSIONNEL
Déléguer les pouvoirs, l’autorité et la compétence requis à ses subordonnés ; veiller à ce que les rôles, les responsabilités et la chaîne hiérarchique soient clairs pour tous ; estimer avec précision le temps et les ressources nécessaires pour accomplir une tâche et tirer le meilleur parti des compétences ; Suivre l’avancement du travail au regard des échéances ; s’entretenir régulièrement avec ses subordonnés des résultats qu’ils obtiennent, leur faire savoir comment leur apport est perçu et leur donner les conseils nécessaires ; encourager le risque et soutenir la créativité et l’initiative ; appuyer activement les aspirations professionnelles de ses collaborateurs ; faire preuve de justice dans la notation.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau de la maîtrise dans le domaine du droit, de la justice pénale, des sciences sociales ou de la gestion, ou dans toute autre discipline apparentée. À défaut, un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle dans ces domaines assorti de deux années supplémentaires d’expérience de travail pertinente dans le domaine du système pénitencier peut être considéré comme un équivalent acceptable.

Expérience professionnelle

Au moins 10 années d’expérience, à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés, dans un système d’administration pénitentiaire, sont exigées, y compris dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants: gestion de prisons; développement de politique; planification stratégique et opérationnelle; formation ou domaine apparenté. Au moins une année d’assistance technique pour le renforcement d’un système pénitentiaire dans un cadre de transition, de développement ou de post-conflit, en dehors du pays de nationalité du candidat, est exigée. Une expérience de gestion d'une large équipe est exigée. Une expérience de planification, de gestion des effectifs et de budget est exigée.

Connaissances linguistiques

L'anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du Secrétariat de l'Organisation des Nations Unies. Pour le poste faisant l'objet du présent avis, la maîtrise de l'anglais à l'oral et à l'écrit est exigée; la connaissance du français ou de l’arabe est souhaitable.

Méthode d'évaluation

L’évaluation des candidats qualifiés pourrait inclure un exercice d’évaluation, pouvant être suivi d’un entretien d’appréciation des compétences.

Notice spéciale

Le Département de l'appui aux missions des Nations Unies tient à jour des listes de candidats qualifiés et disponibles pour pourvoir les postes prévus dans les opérations de maintien de la paix, les missions politiques spéciales et d'autres opérations sur le terrain.

Le but de cette offre d'emploi est de constituer une liste mixte masculine / féminine de candidats pré-autorisés pour les postes de Spécialiste hors classe des questions pénitentiaires P-5 dans les opérations de paix de l'ONU. Les femmes sont particulièrement encouragées à postuler pour la réalisation de la Stratégie de parité hommes-femmes à l'échelle du système des Nations Unies lancée en septembre 2017.

https://iseek-newyork.un.org/system/files/1700102b_gender_strategy_report_13_sept_2017.pdf

Veuillez noter que cette liste est pour un profil spécifique des candidats requis par les opérations de paix de l'ONU. Ces postes sont situés dans des zones de conflit et d'après-conflit qui sont généralement classées en tant que lieux d'affectation hors famille et / ou en difficulté. En tant que tels, les candidats qui sont finalement sélectionnés pour des postes ne peuvent pas amener des membres de la famille avec eux. Cela dit, l'Organisation des Nations Unies offre un ensemble de salaires compétitifs et des avantages et droits spécifiques pour aider le personnel déployé dans les lieux d'affectation déconseillés aux familles à équilibrer les obligations professionnelles et personnelles. Pour en savoir plus sur le barème des traitements de l'ONU et sur les avantages et les droits dans les endroits difficiles, veuillez visiter

http://unjumet.net/ohrm_main/index.php.

Une liste mise à jour des opérations de paix de l'ONU et des informations supplémentaires sur le travail sur le terrain peuvent être consultées à l'adresse suivante:
http://www.un.org/en/peacekeeping/about/dfs/ et http://www.un.org/undpa/en/in-the-field/overview.

Touts les candidats seront informés par écrit du résultat de leur candidature (qu'elles aient été retenus ou rejetés) dans les 14 jours suivant la fin du processus. Les candidats retenus seront inscrits sur la liste et seront ensuite invités à postuler pour des postes vacants ouverts uniquement aux membres de la liste. L'adhésion à la liste ne garantit pas la sélection.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. (Charte des Nations Unies - Chapitre III, Article 8). Le Secrétariat des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Aucun frais de dossier

L’ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2019 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: SENIOR CORRECTIONS OFFICER,, P5
Job Code Title: SENIOR CORRECTIONS OFFICER
Department/Office: Field Missions
Duty Station: Field Locations
Posting Period: 07 March 2018 - 09 June 2018
Job Opening Number: 18-Rule of Law-FMADFS-94301-P- (M)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Org. Setting and Reporting

These positions are located in United Nations peacekeeping operations, special political missions, and/or other field operations. Incumbents may serve as head of the corrections component. The Senior Corrections Officer typically reports to the Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General, the head of the justice and corrections component of the mission, or another relevant senior officer, depending on the mission structure. Senior corrections officer positions are typically based at the headquarters of UN field mission, generally the capital city of the country where the mission is established.

Responsibilities

Within limits of delegated authority, and under the supervision of the Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General, the head of the justice and corrections component or other relevant senior officer, the Senior Corrections Officer will be responsible for the following duties: (These duties are generic and may differ depending on the mandate and requirements of the mission).

• Lead and manage the development and implementation of the mission’s strategies related to supporting national counterparts in strengthening and developing all aspects of the corrections system, including: implementation of applicable international standards; development and implementation of strategic planning processes; development, implementation and assessment of training programmes; review and development of relevant legislation; rehabilitation of facilities; management of prisoners and staff; management of critical strategic and operational issues, particularly security and overcrowding; and development of effective linkages with the police and the court system.

• Establish and maintain contacts and effective relations with senior national government officials and civil society representatives, including counterparts in the Ministry of Justice and/or other relevant Ministries, the police, courts, prisons, non-governmental organizations, universities and law schools, media, diplomatic missions and donors.

• Build linkages with development partners and donors to ensure a seamless transition to long term development support and mobilization of resources where necessary.

• Advise on and prepare assessment reports, policy documents, guidelines and reports addressing complex strategic and operational prison system issues.

• Participate in coordination mechanisms at mission level, maintaining close working relationships with relevant components (human rights, police, justice, gender, child protection, etc.) and United Nations entities, and represent the mission as required.

•Perform programmatic, managerial and administrative tasks necessary for the functioning of the mission’s corrections component, including the preparation of budgets, reporting on performance and results, recruiting staff and managing and evaluating staff performance.

•Perform any other task as requested by the mission leadership.

Competencies

•PROFESSIONALISM
Demonstrated in-depth understanding of corrections system issues, and knowledge of relevant international human rights standards; capacity to adopt a strategic approach to the development of a prison system. S/he shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations.

•COMMUNICATION
Speaks and writes clearly and effectively; listens to others, correctly interprets messages from others and responds appropriately; asks questions to clarify and exhibits interest in having two-way communication; tailors language, tone, style and format to match audience; demonstrates openness in sharing information and keeping others informed.

•PLANNING AND ORGANIZING
Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.

•LEADERSHIP
Serves as a role model that other people want to follow: empowers others to translate vision into results; is proactive in developing strategies to accomplish objectives; establishes and maintains relationships with a broad range of people to understand needs and gain support; anticipates and resolves conflicts by pursuing mutually agreeable solutions; drives for change and improvements; does not accept the status quo; shows the courage to take unpopular stands. Provides leadership and takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring the equal participation of women and men in all areas of work; demonstrates knowledge of strategies and commitment to the goal of gender balance in staffing.

•MANAGING PERFORMANCE
Delegates the appropriate responsibility, accountability and decision-making authority; makes sure that roles, responsibilities and reporting lines are clear to each staff member; accurately judges the amount of time and resources needed to accomplish a task and matches task to skills; monitors progress against milestones and deadlines; regularly discusses performance and provides feedback and coaching to staff; Encourages risk-taking and supports creativity and initiative; actively supports the development and career aspirations of staff; appraises performance fairly.

Education

An advanced university degree (Master’s degree or equivalent) in law, criminal justice, social sciences, management or related areas is required. Alternatively, a first-level university degree in these areas, in combination with two additional years of relevant work experience in the field of corrections, may be accepted in lieu of an advanced university degree.

Work Experience

At least ten years of progressively responsible experience in a corrections system is required, including experience in one or more of the following areas: prison management; policy development; strategic and operational planning; and training or related areas. At east one year of experience providing technical assistance for strengthening the corrections system in a transitional, developmental or post-conflict setting outside the applicant’s country of nationality is required. Experience in managing large team is required. Experience in planning, staffing and budgeting is required.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For the position advertised, fluency in oral and written English is required; working knowledge of French or Arabic is desirable.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

Special Notice

The United Nations Department of Field Support maintains rosters of qualified and available candidates to fill anticipated job openings in peacekeeping operations, special political missions, and other field operations.

The purpose of this job opening is to populate an existing mixed male/female roster of pre-cleared candidates for positions as Senior Corrections Officer, P-5 in UN peace operations. Women are particularly encouraged to apply in support of achievement of the United Nations System-Wide Gender Parity Strategy launched in September 2017.
https://iseek-newyork.un.org/system/files/1700102b_gender_strategy_report_13_sept_2017.pdf

Please note that this roster is for a specific profile of candidates required by UN peace operations. These positions are located in conflict and post-conflict locations which are typically classified as non-family and/or hardship duty stations. As such, candidates who are eventually selected for positions cannot bring family members with them. That said, the United Nations offers a competitive salary package and specific benefits and entitlements to help staff deployed to non-family duty stations balance work and life commitments. To learn more about the UN salary scale and benefits and entitlements in hardship locations, please visit http://unjumet.net/ohrm_main/index.php. An updated list of UN peace operations and additional information on working in the field can be found at http://www.un.org/en/peacekeeping/about/dfs/ and http://www.un.org/undpa/en/in-the-field/overview.

All applicants will be notified in writing of the outcome of their application (whether successful or unsuccessful) within 14 days of the conclusion of the process. Successful candidates will be placed on the roster and subsequently will be invited to apply for field mission vacancies open only to roster members. Roster membership does not guarantee selection.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation or sexual abuse, or crimes other than minor traffic offences, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2018 United Nations. All rights reserved