vacance de poste

Intitulé publication: Assistant Spécial des affaires politiques, P4
Intitulé code d’emploi: SPECIAL ASSISTANT, POLITICAL AFFAIRS
Département / Bureau: United Nations Office in Central Africa
Lieu d'affectation: LIBREVILLE
Période de candidature: 15 mars 2018 - 21 mars 2018
No de l’appel á candidature: 18-Political Affairs-UNOCA-94620-R-Libreville (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
Valeurs fondamentales de l'ONU: intégrité, professionnalisme, respect de la diversité
Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
Cadre organisationnel

Ce poste est situé au Bureau du Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général (SRSG) pour l'Afrique centrale et Chef du Bureau régional des Nations Unies pour l'Afrique centrale (UNOCA). L'Assistant spécial, Affaires politiques, apporte son soutien au Bureau - proposant des options au SRSG et fournissant des pistes de recherche bien documentées pour résoudre les problèmes et assurer le suivi des questions à traiter, tant à l'interne qu'à l'externe.

Responsabilités

Dans les limites des pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués, Assistant Special aux affaires politiques sera responsable des tâches suivantes:

- Soutenir le Représentant Spécial du Secrétaire général dans la mise en œuvre du mandat de l'UNOCA tel qu'il est donné par le Conseil de sécurité;
- Porter à l'attention du Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général toutes les questions nécessitant l'attention personnelle du Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général, aider à formuler des options quant à la manière dont ces questions pourraient être traitées et assurer un suivi approprié, selon les instructions;
- Comme demandé, gèrer la correspondance entrante et sortante du SRSG;
- Rédiger la correspondance pour la signature du SRSG, ainsi que d'autres documents, y compris les câbles de code et les rapports au Conseil de sécurité;
- Assurer la liaison et entretenir des relations de travail étroites avec les responsables des institutions publiques, des partis politiques, des organisations de la société civile, des acteurs religieux, etc.
- Organiser et gèrer des conférences, des réunions, des séminaires et des ateliers selon les directives du SRSG;
- Soutenir le Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général auprès de ses interlocuteurs auprès des autorités régionales de haut niveau, y compris les chefs d'État, en prenant des notes et en rédigeant des comptes rendus de réunions;
- Effectuer d'autres tâches, telles qu'assignées par le SRSG.

Compétences

Professionnalisme - Capacité démontrée de compléter des études approfondies et de parvenir à des conclusions sur les causes possibles et les solutions aux problèmes politiques dans des domaines spécifiques et / ou des pays. Capacité de se rapporter à diverses questions et perspectives aux programmes politiques, sociaux, économiques et humanitaires dans les pays et les zones touchés. Tirer fierté de son travail et de ses réalisations ; faire preuve de compétence professionnelle et de maîtrise du sujet ; apporter à l'exécution de ses tâches la conscience et le souci d'efficacité voulus pour être en mesure d'honorer les engagements contractés, de tenir les délais impartis et d'obtenir les résultats escomptés ; agir pour des motifs professionnels plutôt que personnels ; faire preuve de persévérance face aux obstacles et aux difficultés ; garder son calme dans les situations de crise ; prendre la responsabilité de transversaliser la problématique hommes-femmes et d’assurer l’égale participation des femmes et des hommes dans toutes les activités.

Aptitude à la communication - S'exprimer clairement et efficacement, tant oralement que par écrit ; écouter les autres, bien les comprendre et donner suite comme il convient ; poser les questions voulues afin d'obtenir des éclaircissements et faciliter le dialogue ; adapter le langage, le ton, le style et la présentation au public auquel on s’adresse ; savoir partager l'information avec tous ceux qu'elle intéresse et tenir chacun au courant.

Aptitude à planifier et à organiser : Définir clairement des buts compatibles avec les stratégies convenues ; Hiérarchiser les activités et tâches prioritaires; modifier les priorités en fonction des besoins; Prévoir suffisamment de temps et de ressources pour mener sa tâche à bien; Tenir compte des risques et des imprévus dans la planification ; Suivre l’exécution des plans et les modifier s’il y a lieu ; Tirer le meilleur parti du temps dont on dispose.

Formation

Diplôme universitaire du niveau supérieur (maîtrise ou équivalent) en sciences politiques, en droit, en communication, en gestion ou dans un domaine connexe. Un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle combiné à une expérience pertinente peut être accepté en lieu et place du diplôme universitaire supérieur. Une formation professionnelle dans les domaines de la planification, de la facilitation et / ou de la coordination est un atout.

Expérience professionnelle

In minimum de sept années d'expérience professionnelle, à des niveaux de responsabilité de plus en plus élevés, en science politique, relations internationales, droit, désarmement, sécurité, gestion du développement, résolution de conflits ou dans un domaine apparenté. Une expérience de travail en Afrique centrale ou sur des questions politiques liées à l'Afrique centrale est un atout. Une expérience préalable en matière d'appui technique à un haut fonctionnaire des Nations Unies est souhaitable.

Connaissances linguistiques

L'anglais et le français sont les langues de travail du Secrétariat de l'ONU. Pour ce poste, la maîtrise de l'anglais et du français (oral et écrit) est requise.

Méthode d'évaluation

L’évaluation des candidats qualifiés pourrait inclure un exercice d’évaluation, pouvant être suivi d’un entretien d’appréciation des compétences.

Notice spéciale

La nomination ou l’affectation est limité à la mission, à ce poste et au mandat du Chef de mission. La prolongation du contrat / affectation est assujettie à la disponibilité des fonds et / ou renouvellement du mandat et extension du mandat du Chef de Mission. La nomination à ce poste ne doit pas donner lieu à l'examen d'une nomination continue.

Le Secrétariat des Nations Unies s'est engagé à atteindre l'équilibre entre les sexes à 50/50 au sein de son effectif. Les candidates sont fortement encouragées à postuler pour ce poste.

Charte des Nations Unies

Aucune restriction ne sera imposée par l'Organisation à l'accès des hommes et des femmes, dans des conditions égales, à toutes les fonctions, dans ses organes principaux et subsidiaires. (Charte des Nations Unies - Chapitre III, Article 8). Le Secrétariat des Nations Unies est un espace non-fumeurs.

Aucun frais de dossier

L'ONU NE PERÇOIT DE FRAIS À AUCUN STADE DU RECRUTEMENT (DÉPÔT OU TRAITEMENT DE LA CANDIDATURE, ENTRETIEN, FORMATION, ETC.), ET ELLE NE DEMANDE AUCUNE INFORMATION BANCAIRE.

Désolé, cet appel à candidature n'est plus disponible.
partager
Accueil | Confidentialite | Plan du site | Courriers frauduleux | Contactez-nous
Copyright 2020 United Nations. All rights reserved

Job Opening

Posting Title: Special Assistant, Political Affairs, P4
Job Code Title: SPECIAL ASSISTANT, POLITICAL AFFAIRS
Department/Office: United Nations Office in Central Africa
Duty Station: LIBREVILLE
Posting Period: 15 March 2018 - 21 March 2018
Job Opening Number: 18-Political Affairs-UNOCA-94620-R-Libreville (R)
Staffing Exercise N/A
United Nations Core Values: Integrity, Professionalism, Respect for Diversity
Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.

Org. Setting and Reporting

This post is located in the Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG) for Central Africa and Head of the United Nations Regional Office for Central Africa (UNOCA). The Special Assistant, Political Affairs, provides support to the Office of the SRSG– proposing options and providing well-researched avenues for resolving problems and following up on matters to be addressed, both internally and externally.

Responsibilities

Within delegated authority, the Special Assistant, Political Affairs will be responsible for the following duties:

- Supports the SRSG in the implementation of UNOCA's mandate as given by the Security Council;
- Brings to the attention of the SRSG all matters requiring the SRSG’s personal attention, assists in formulating options as to how those matters might be handled, and ensures appropriate follow-up, as directed;
- As requested, handles incoming and outgoing correspondence of the SRSG;
- Drafts correspondence for the SRSG’s signature, as well as other documentation including code cables and reports to the Security Council;
- Liaises and maintains close working relationships with officials of state institutions, political parties, civil society organizations, religious actors, etc.;
- Organizes and manages conferences, meetings, seminars and workshops as directed by the SRSG;
- Supports the SRSG in his/her audiences with high-level regional authorities, including heads of state, taking notes and drafting meeting readouts;
- Performs other duties, as assigned by the SRSG.

Competencies

Professionalism: Shows ability to complete in-depth studies and reach conclusions on possible causes and solutions to political problems in specific areas and/or countries. Shows ability to relate to various issues and perspectives to political social, economic and humanitarian programmes in affected countries and areas. Shows pride in work and in achievements; demonstrates professional competence and mastery of the subject matter; is conscientious and efficient in meeting commitments, observing deadlines and achieving results; is motivated by professional rather than personal concerns; shows persistence when faced with difficult problems or challenges; remains calm in stressful situations. Takes responsibility for incorporating gender perspectives and ensuring equal participation of women and men in all areas of work.

Communication: Speaks and writes clearly and effectively; listens to others, correctly interprets messages from others and responds appropriately; asks questions to clarify, and exhibits interest in having two-way communication; tailors language, tone, style and format to match audience; demonstrates openness in sharing information and keeping people informed.

Planning & Organizing: Develops clear goals that are consistent with agreed strategies; identifies priority activities and assignments; adjusts priorities as required; allocates appropriate amount of time and resources for completing work; foresees risks and allows for contingencies when planning; monitors and adjusts plans and actions as necessary; uses time efficiently.

Education

Advanced university degree (master’s degree or equivalent) in Political Science, Law, Communication, Management Development, or a related field. A first-level university degree in combination with qualifying experience may be accepted in lieu of the advanced university degree. Professional training in the areas of planning, facilitation and/or coordination is an asset.

Work Experience

A minimum of seven years of progressively responsible experience in political science, international relations, law, disarmament, security, development management, conflict resolution or related area. A working experience in Central Africa or on political issues relating to Central Africa is desirable. Prior experience in providing substantive support to a senior UN official is desirable.

Languages

English and French are the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat. For this position, fluency in English and French, (both oral and written) is required.

Assessment

Evaluation of qualified candidates may include an assessment exercise which may be followed by competency-based interview.

Special Notice

Appointment or assignment is limited to the mission, to this position and the tenure of the Head of Mission. Extension of appointment/assignment is subject to availability of funds and or renewal of mandate and extension of the tenure of the Head of Mission. Appointment to this position shall not give rise to consideration for a continuing appointment.

The United Nations Secretariat is committed to achieving 50/50 gender balance in its staff. Female candidates are strongly encouraged to apply for this position.

United Nations Considerations

According to article 101, paragraph 3, of the Charter of the United Nations, the paramount consideration in the employment of the staff is the necessity of securing the highest standards of efficiency, competence, and integrity. Candidates will not be considered for employment with the United Nations if they have committed violations of international human rights law, violations of international humanitarian law, sexual exploitation or sexual abuse, or crimes other than minor traffic offences, or if there are reasonable grounds to believe that they have been involved in the commission of any of these acts. The term “sexual exploitation” means any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power, or trust, for sexual purposes, including, but not limited to, profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. The term “sexual abuse” means the actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions.

Due regard will be paid to the importance of recruiting the staff on as wide a geographical basis as possible. The United Nations places no restrictions on the eligibility of men and women to participate in any capacity and under conditions of equality in its principal and subsidiary organs. The United Nations Secretariat is a non-smoking environment.

Applicants are urged to follow carefully all instructions available in the online recruitment platform, inspira. For more detailed guidance, applicants may refer to the Manual for the Applicant, which can be accessed by clicking on “Manuals” hyper-link on the upper right side of the inspira account-holder homepage.

The evaluation of applicants will be conducted on the basis of the information submitted in the application according to the evaluation criteria of the job opening and the applicable internal legislations of the United Nations including the Charter of the United Nations, resolutions of the General Assembly, the Staff Regulations and Rules, administrative issuances and guidelines. Applicants must provide complete and accurate information pertaining to their personal profile and qualifications according to the instructions provided in inspira to be considered for the current job opening. No amendment, addition, deletion, revision or modification shall be made to applications that have been submitted. Candidates under serious consideration for selection will be subject to reference checks to verify the information provided in the application.

Job openings advertised on the Careers Portal will be removed at 11:59 p.m. (New York time) on the deadline date.

No Fee

THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CHARGE A FEE AT ANY STAGE OF THE RECRUITMENT PROCESS (APPLICATION, INTERVIEW MEETING, PROCESSING, OR TRAINING). THE UNITED NATIONS DOES NOT CONCERN ITSELF WITH INFORMATION ON APPLICANTS’ BANK ACCOUNTS.

Sorry, this job opening is no longer available.
Home | Privacy notice | Site map | Fraud alert | Contact Us
Copyright 2020 United Nations. All rights reserved